RSS

Moving is a Pain!

11 Jun

Moving, whether it be your home, your classroom, your books from one room to the next or your blog is quite simply a pain!

As you know, I’m an elementary school librarian. Of the four blogs I currently maintain, two are book related – one specifically targeted to elementary readers, teachers, and parents.  My school district is getting ready to block access to Blogger from school computers. On Friday, I took a professional development class on blogging. I learned a lot – including about the impending move to block Blogger.

During the class I managed to move my elementary blog Mrs. Archer’s Book Notes to the districts blog site which uses WordPress.  I decided to transfer this blog as well, though not to the school’s host.  I’m not sure all this makes sense. I feel like I need either a road map or bread crumbs to follow. I think the school district uses WordPress.org (don’t hold me to that though) and this blog is on WordPress.com – a free site.

Of course with any move comes headaches. I managed to restore the extra pages that didn’t transfer. Yet, I can’t figure out how to transfer the followers from the old blog to this one. I managed to put a button for one of the challenges I’m participating in on the sidebar, but I can’t seem to transfer any other buttons, nor can I add my Shelfari widget.  Knowing a little technology is more dangerous and more frustrating than knowing none.

I’m sure I’ll figure it out. I just hope I do before I pull all my hair out.

Surely, moving my blog(s) can't be any more difficult than hiking up the Manitou Incline. If I survived that, I should survive the move.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Moving is a Pain!

  1. Joyce Kelly

    June 11, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Looks like the “move” was successful! Joyce

     
  2. Vickie Browning

    June 11, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    I umdated my blog roll with your new place…

     
  3. Vickie Browning

    June 11, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    uhhhh….that would ‘updated’ ….

     

Leave a Reply

 
