RSS

ARC Review: Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

15 Jun

Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

I won a copy of this ARC from Goodreads

From the back of the book:

“For Ellis, Julia, and Dorie, a vacation in North Carolina’s Outer Banks is just what they need.  They rent a rambling old beach house from the mysterious Ty Bazemore, who is also at a turning point in his life, and prepare for a month of rest, relaxation, and reconnecting.

Their plans for a peaceful summer are interrupted when they meet up with Maryn Shackelford, a woman on the run who desperately needs their help.  Soon Ellis, Julia, Dorie, Ty, and Maryn will question everything they knew about life as they each drift towards a much needed sea change, and uncover the healing power of friendship and forgiveness.”

This is the ultimate Chick Lit Summer Beach Read!

What I liked about this book: I really liked all of the characters. They were all well developed.  Usually, there is at least one character that I don’t care for, but that was not the case with this book.  Don’t get me wrong. They were not perfect. In fact they were very human, which gave the book a realistic feel.  I liked the tone of the book as well. Each of the characters has an issue with which they are dealing, some more serious than others.  Andrews manages to treat those issues seriously without giving the book a depressing tone.  I liked how they characters solved their issues.  The resolutions actually seemed very realistic.  The pacing of the book was just right for a summer read. Not a lot of thrilling action until almost the end, but a consistent page turner through out the book.

Because I received this for review, this is a book that was on my “assigned” reading list. However, it was not a “chore” to read this book. It is one of my favorite reads for this summer.

What I didn’t like about the book: There really wasn’t anything that I didn’t like about this book.  I admit, I’d like to know a little more about what Ellis does in the future, but that’s not really a bad thing. A good writer often makes the reader wonder about what the characters do once the book ends.

I highly recommend Summer Rental for summer/beach reading or for book clubs.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “ARC Review: Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

  1. Joyce Kelly

    June 15, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I’ve put that on my list for reading soon. I bet the local library doesn’t have it yet, but they probably will get it, and they are pretty good with Inter-library loans.
    Thanks!

     
  2. Vickie Browning

    June 15, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I absolutel adore Mary Kay Andrews’ books!! Just added this one to my Recorded Books wishlist and put it up top to number one, so hope to get it soon. They are a fun listen.

     

Leave a Reply

 
