RSS

Book Beginnings and Friday 56

17 Jun

I haven’t done one of these in a while and thought I’d give it another shot. I think it’s a great way to tease people into reading a book.

Book Beginnings

Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Katy at A Few More Pages.  

Anyone can participate; just share the opening sentence of your current read, making sure that you include the title and author so others know what you’re reading.

If you like, share with everyone why you do, or do not, like the sentence.

Hour Glass by Myra McEntire

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

“My small Southern hometown is beautiful in the haunting way an aging debutante is beautiful.  The bones are exquisite, but the skin could use a lift.  You could say my brother, the architect, is Ivy Springs’ plastic surgeon.”

This is a great opening sentence.  It captures the reader’s interest, but doesn’t give anything away about the book.

   The Friday 56

Rules:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post
    that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these
    instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the
    comments section of Freda’s Voice
  • Post a link along with your post back to Freda’s Voice

Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Black Beans and Vice by J. B. Stanley

Black Beans and Vice by J.B. Stanley

“The brothers exchanged hungry grins and in perfect unison shouted, “Pie!”

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Book Beginnings and Friday 56

  1. teenagersmom

    June 17, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun! Thanks for participating!

    Freda

     
  2. Kathy Martin

    June 17, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Both sentences are interesting in their own way. I have never heard of Black Beans and Vice but I have certainly seen Hourglass all over the blogs I follow lately. I may have to add that one to my TBR mountain (as soon as I can see over the top of it.). Happy reading.

     
  3. TheBookGatherer

    June 17, 2011 at 8:23 am

    A very cool beginning. Something quite different and I really like the cover as well

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/book-beginningson-friday_17.html

     
  4. Katy

    June 17, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I love books set in older towns. I keep seeing HOURGLASS everywhere but I don’t know much about it. I hope you enjoy reading it!

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

     
  5. pagesofjulia

    June 17, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I like the use of debutante in the small Southern town; makes a setting.

     
  6. Bev

    June 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I love that beginning!

    Here are my Friday Memes: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/06/friday-memes_17.html

     
  7. SquirrelQueen

    June 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Both of these books sound very interesting but being a Southern girl I can really appreciate the opening of Hourglass.
    The Road to Here

     
  8. debnance at readerbuzz

    June 17, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    This is my first time to participate in BB and I’m surprised to see that everyone does the combo (BB plus Friday 56). I like the combo. Next time, I try both.

    Here is my post: Beautiful & Pointless. I hope you will stop by. And I hope you will enter my June Giveaway. I’ll be giving away a copy of Anna and the French Kiss.

     
  9. vvb

    June 17, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    pie – says it all to foodlovers about.

     

Leave a Reply

 
