RSS

Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – July 8th

08 Jul

Book Beginnings

Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Katy at A Few More Pages.  

Anyone can participate; just share the opening sentence of your current read, making sure that you include the title and author so others know what you’re reading.

If you like, share with everyone why you do, or do not, like the sentence.

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

“The table was sticky, there was a cloudy smudge on my water glass, and we’d been seated for ten minutes with no sign of a waitress.  Still, I knew what my dad would say. By this point, it was part of the routine. ‘Well, I gotta tell you. I see potential here.”
What Happened to Goodbye

What Happened to Goodbye

The Friday 56

The Friday 56

Rules:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post
    that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these
    instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the
    comments section of Freda’s Voice
  • Post a link along with your post back to Freda’s Voice

Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

You'll Like It Here (Everybody Does) by Ruth White

You’ll Like It here (Everybody Does) by Ruth White

“Officer Brent abruptly turns from us and continues walking his beat. David and I plod back to the perch on the steps and wait for Mom and Gramps. A long silence ensues, until at last David turns to me and says “Toto, I don’t think we are in Kansas anymore.””

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – July 8th

  1. Bev@My Reader's Block

    July 8, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Hmmm. That second one really has me curious. I wonder what happened to make David say they’re not in Kansas anymore?

    Here are my Friday memes: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/07/friday-memes_08.html

     
  2. Between The Lines

    July 8, 2011 at 8:22 am

    That second one sounds really intriguing! It’s amazing how taking something out of its context can make it so much more interesting 🙂

     
  3. Freda

    July 8, 2011 at 8:29 am

    LOL Doesn’t sound like Kansas…. Thanks for participating!

     
  4. Anne

    July 8, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Is You’ll Like it Here also a YA book? I am ready to start my first Dessen book this week: Just Listen. I conducted a poll and that one was the winner.

    My book beginning is part of my book review for the wonderful historical novel: Between Shades of Gray.

     
    • bevarcher

      July 8, 2011 at 9:25 am

      Amazon says You’ll Like It Here is for ages 9 to 12, which so far seems about right. Based on what I’ve read so far, I’ll buy it for my school’s library. I like Dessen’s books. I’m almost done with What Happened to Goodbye. Her books are a little old for my students, but I often recommend them to the older children of friends.

      Beverly

       
  5. pagesofjulia

    July 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I like both your snippets, and they share a certain similarity, too. I’ve heard a lot about What Happened to Goodbye but nothing about the second…

     
  6. Katy

    July 8, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I’ve heard great things about Sara Dessen. I like this beginning. 🙂

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

     
  7. TheBookGatherer

    July 8, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Great beginning! I wonder what he sees potential in? I think there’s always something intriguing about situations between fathers and daughters. And what a fun cover too! Looks like how I try to pack!

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/07/book-beginningson-friday.html

     
  8. Kerri's Book Blog

    July 8, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Sounds like a good beginning. I have been meaning to try one of Sara Dessen’s books. I have heard good things.

     

Leave a Reply

 
