RSS

ARC Review: The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson

30 Jul

The Fox Inheritance

 I received an Advance Reader’s Copy of this book through the Amazon Vine Program in exchange for an honest review.

The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson – scheduled for release on August 30, 2011.

From the back of the book:

“They say time heals all wounds, but they’re wrong.  After a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, the minds of three best friends were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld.  Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first.  When Jenna disappeared, Lock and Kara had to go on without her.  Decades passed, and then centuries.

Two hundred and sixty years later, they have been released at last.  Given new, perfect bodies, Lock and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.  Everyone . . . except Jenna Fox.”

This is a well written, engaging sequel to Pearson’s The Adoration of Jenna Fox. I have to admit that with the way that book ended, I did not expect there to be a sequel.  Sometimes it’s nice to be surprised. Though I enjoyed both books, I have to say I enjoyed this sequel more.

What I liked about the book:  It’s a page turner.  Even though I would classify this as a sci-fi book, it’s also a thriller. There’s a cross country chase, a mystery, and of course the good guys vs the bad guys. It even includes an ethical dilemma regarding bio-engineering. How far should we go to save/extend life?  I liked that even though this is a sequel, it could very easily be a stand alone read.  Pearson has created well developed characters (even the ones I didn’t like – like Kara) and she’s a master at world building.

What I didn’t like about the book: I liked it all.

Fans of sci-fi futuristic stories will enjoy this book. It has a touch of dystopian flavor to it as well, though not enough that I would classify it as a dystopian novel.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
