RSS

The Mother Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick

07 Sep

1st in a Series

The Mother Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick

From the back of the book: ” The book club is about to get a makeover . . . Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma’s already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-inspired ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school.  From stolen journals to secret crushes to a fashion-fiasco first dance, the girls are up to their Wellie boots in drama.  They can’t help but wonder: What would Jo March do?”

What I liked about the book:  I think the idea of a mother/daughter book club is just wonderful! If I had daughters, I would start one.  (I’m not sure I could talk my sons into it – they love to read, but a mother/son book club would probably not interest them.)  Frederick’s characters are well developed and very realistic. They are not perfect teens nor are they the total stereotypical teens. They are just typical teens.  I like how we get to see events from each of the characters’ points of view. Each chapter  focuses on one of the four girls.  There is the usual drama of dealing with a clique of mean girls (but that’s part of real life and it’s not just something that happens to teens.  Mean girls sometimes grow into mean adults.)  Of course, I just loved that one of the mom’s is a librarian.  I’ve two quotes from the book to my list of favorite quotes:  ” . . . she’s a librarian and knows just about everything else under the sun. And whatever she doesn’t know she can find the answers to”  and “I swear she knows everything. It’s probably because she’s a librarian and gets to read all day.”

What I didn’t like about the book: The mean girls. This is a personal thing – I don’t like mean girls and I like mean adult women even less. (Mrs. Chadwick really should realize what a horrible example she is setting for her daughter.)  This doesn’t take away from the book. It adds to the drama and is part of what makes it a good story.  The ending was a little like the happy ending of a 30 minute TV sitcom without the humor.  But this did not bother me enough to keep me from giving it 5 stars.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who has daughters – whatever age they may be.

Recommended for  4th grade and up.

AR Level: 4.6

Mrs. Archer’s rating: 5 of 5!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
