RSS

Brave Rooney by Gerry Renert

06 Oct

Brave Rooney iPad App

Brave Rooney by Gerry Renert

Summary:

Ordinary boy Rooney shows up at Captain Majestic Memorial School, an elementary school for superheroes. Through the story, he shows all his superhero classmates what it means to be truly brave. Story is meant to build the player’s self-esteem.
Features: Over 50 interactive features and animations, 23 pages of illustrations, narrated by author Gerry Renert (three-time Emmy-nominated kids’ TV writer), highlighted reading text, Read to Me or I Can Read options, visual page index.

I saw a review of this over at I Am A Reader Not A Writer (this is a great blog and if you haven’t checked it out before, I highly recommend that you do so) and decided to purchase the app.

What I liked about this book: It has a great message about self esteem. I also liked the options.  Kids can have the story read to them or read it for themselves.  If they choose to have it read to them, the text is highlighted as the words are read.  This is a great way for students to work on their fluency.

Though the story is geared toward younger readers, it does have appeal for older readers. I showed this to some of my fifth grade readers. They were enthralled.  I’m not sure if it was the fact that I was letting them watch something on my iPad or the book itself.  Perhaps both.  In a world where technology has garnered so much of our youngsters’ attention, I’m pleased to see ways of combining animated technology with “vintage” reading.  Currently you can only purchase this from iTunes.  The price is right. At $2.99 it’s less expensive than many paper back books.

What I didn’t like about the book: Can’t think of thing I didn’t like.

Recommended for Kindergarten and up.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Brave Rooney by Gerry Renert

  1. Inspired Kathy

    October 6, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks for the mention. Glad you enjoyed the app.

     

Leave a Reply

 
