RSS

Love Always by Harriet Evans

07 Nov

Love Always

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from GoodReads.

Love Always by Harriet Evans

Summary:

When Natasha Kapoor returns to her grandparents’ idyllic coastal home for her beloved grandmother’s funeral, her life is at a turning point. She thought by now she’d be a successful jewelry designer in London with a perfect marriage. Instead, she’s got mounting bills and a soon-to-be ex.

After the funeral, Natasha’s grandfather gives her the long-lost diary of her aunt Cecily. No one in her large and complicated family has ever discussed the tragic accident that took Cecily’s life as a teenager, and within the diary’s pages, Natasha finds a gripping and shocking tale of forbidden love, rivalry, and heartbreak.

Nearly fifty years later, will Cecily’s diary finally explain her family’s dark past and the terrible secret her aunt left behind? Is it possible it’s just the inspiration Natasha needs to take a fresh look at her future, and maybe even give love a second chance?

What I liked about this book:  I love books set in Britain.  It was very easy to hear the voices of the characters as I read this book. I liked the dual time line of the story. Writing a story that takes place in two different times is not easy, but Evans does an excellent job.  I really liked the characters: Natasha and Cecily, though I was rather conflicted about Natasha’s mom – Miranda. That makes sense, since Natasha seems to feel that way, too.  This is a nice summer beach read.

What I didn’t like about the book: I didn’t like the pacing. I received this book months ago.  It took me three months to read it.  There were times when I felt that it dragged on too long. And to be honest, if I had not felt obligated to finish the book, I might not have done so.  Having said that, I’m glad I did finish the book. It took a turn I hadn’t anticipated and I was pleased to find out the resolution of the mystery.

Will I read more of Evans books? Perhaps.  As I said this is a nice summer beach read (or maybe a winter vacation read). It’s possible if I had been reading the book during those times, I might have finished it more quickly.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
