RSS

Chrystallia and The Source of Light by P. M. Glaser

29 Nov

Chrystallia The Source of Light by P.M. Glaser

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from LibraryThing’s Early Review Program in exchange for an honest review.

Chrystallia and The Source of Light by P. M. Glaser

Maggie is a young girl who’s life is falling a part. Her mother is dying. Her family is loosing her home. As the holidays approach, Maggie and her little brother Jesse find themselves in a strange new world – Chrystallia. and all Maggie wants to do is go home.

What I liked about the book:  I didn’t like anything. OK, the concept was interesting, but the book just didn’t live up to the potential.

What I didn’t like about the book:  I hesitate to write this review.  It seems everyone liked this book, except for me.  I really did not like this book.  It felt like a badly crafted mishmash of Alice and Wonderland and The Wizard of Oz.

The story was too hard to follow and quite frankly gave me a headache.  There was either too many characters to follow. The flow of the story between the characters was too choppy. I kept losing the plot. This book is billed as a children’s fantasy, but many of the characters have accents that are difficult for young readers to follow. A mangled mess of  French, Russian and South Texas accents made the story even more difficult to follow. (And probably explains the migraine I got every time I read this book.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
