RSS

You Might As Well Die by J.J. Murphy

10 Dec

You Might As Well Die

 FTC Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

This book was released on December 6th.  As I mentioned in the disclosure I received a copy in advance. My goal was to have my review posted on the release day, but life got in the way. My husband and I were involved in a bad car wreck and that combined with the schedule at school totally messed up my blogging schedule.

You Might As Well Die by J. J. Murphy

Summary:  When second-rate illustrator Ernie MacGuffin’s artistic works triple in value following his apparent suicide off the Brooklyn Bridge, Dorothy Parker smells something fishy. Enlisting the help of magician and skeptic Harry Houdini, she goes to a séance held by MacGuffin’s mistress, where Ernie’s ghostly voice seems hauntingly real…

Here’s where I gush and go all fangirl:  I love this series.  About a year ago I had to adjust my book buying habits due to lack of shelf space and a decrease in funds available for buying books. As a result I had to buy less and check out more from the library (got to love libraries.)  However, I do have certain authors/series that I “collect” – these are authors that I MUST have on my shelves.  J.J. Murphy is one of those authors.

What I liked about the book:  Everything. I love the setting, the characters, the plot! I like that even though it’s a mystery, the mystery is not the only essential element of the story.  Dorothy Parker and her interactions with her fellow members of the Algonquin Round Table are also a big part of the story.  Murphy has created a story where the reader truly feels as though they have stepped back in time.  I love the type of mystery this is – though I’m not really sure how to categorize it. It’s not a thriller and it’s not a cozy. I think I’d call it a Christie Mystery. (Rhyming not intentional.)  Agatha Christie was the author that got me hooked on mysteries when I was  a kid. When I read Murphy’s mysteries, I get that same good read feeling I always get when I read one of Dame Agatha’s books.

Another reason this series appeals to me is that I enjoy fiction that includes real people. I like that Murphy includes famous/infamous people from the past. I always find myself doing a little research on the famous characters in the books. As an educator, any book that inspires the reader to learn more is a gem.

What I didn’t like about the book:  There wasn’t a thing I didn’t like about the book. If you like mysteries, you have to add this series to your must read list.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
