RSS

ARC Review of Garmann’s Secret by Stian Hole

29 Dec

Garmann's Secret

FTC Disclosure: I received an advance copy of this book from Librarything’s Early Review Program in exchange for an honest review.

Summary:

“They’re like two peas in a pod,” adults whisper about the girls. But Garmann knows that they aren’t. Then one day Johanna takes Garmann into the woods to show him a surprise, and the two find a secret world full of imagination and discovery.”

Based on the summary provided by Librarything, I thought this would be a good addition for my elementary school library. It sounded like an interesting story. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to it’s potential.

What I liked about the book: Unfortunately, I didn’t like anything about this book.

What I didn’t like about the book: The storyline was too disjointed.  It really didn’t make any sense.  What I really didn’t like were the illustrations. I found them to be rather creepy and well, downright scary. I also found the suggested romance between the two children to be out of place in this story.  I have not read the other books by this author and I most likely won’t bother reading them.  I do not believe this would be a good selection for our library.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
