RSS

Book Clubs

05 Jan

2012 seems to be the year for Book Clubs for me. I actually started a face to face Book Club in 2011. We sort of call ourselves The Pikes Peak Bookworms (ok, that’s what I call us, I’m not sure about the rest of the group.)  I’m also not sure who besides me, actually reads the books. I really am failing at running this Book Club.  At least we have a good time when we get together.  This month we are reading Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson, which is re-read for me. I enjoyed it the first time I read it, so I know that I will have at least one good read in January.

*

I’ve also decided to start an online Book Club for my students.  A number of them seem interested in really discussing books – but the library lesson schedule and the school day just doesn’t seem to allow time for that.  I know some teen librarians in the Public Library World have had some success with this. I’m not sure how it will work at the elementary level – I’m going to try setting up a Book Club Blog.  Even if I only end up with 5 participants, I think it will be worth it.

And finally, I’ve joined an online Book Club – The Forbidden Book Club hosted by Once Upon a Twilight.

*

This month we are reading Looking for Alaska by John Green.  This has been on my TBR list for a while, so already joining an Online Book Club is going to help me tackle my overwhelming list.  Apparently, everyone else is reading this book too because both libraries I patronize (Pikes Peak Library District and Douglas County Libraries) had no copies available for check out. Not wanting to fall behind in the reading I purchased the book for the Kindle App on my iPad. I can read it while walking on the treadmill.

*

 

What about you? Do you belong to any Book Clubs? If so, do they actually read and discuss the books? How do you feel about online Book Clubs?

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
