RSS

Forbidden Book Club – February Read – But I Love Him

18 Feb

*

I am very excited to be part of “the forbidden book club.”  In January we read John Green’s Looking for Alaska, not one of my favorite reads, even though I really like John Green.  This month we are reading But I Love Him by Amanda Grace.

If you would like to catch up on the discussion (or even join in) check out Books Devoured, who is hosting the discussion for February.  Be sure to check out their blog.  It’s very well done, the only problem is that it will cause your to be read pile to grow – and there could be worse things.

*

But, i Love Him by Amanda Grace

Summary:  Ann was a smiling straight-A student and track star. But after she meets Connor, it all changes. She surrenders everything to be with him, and by graduation, her life has become a dangerous high-wire act. One mistake could trigger Connor’s rage, a senseless storm of cruel words and violence damaging everything–and everyone–in its path.

I’m about two thirds through this book. Even though I had seen the cover on a couple of different blogs, I really didn’t know anything about this book before picking it up to read.  It’s a tough read because of the content (not because of the writing.  I find it to be very well written so far.)  Books Devoured has set a great schedule for reading this book – the only problem is that I’m having trouble not reading ahead.

I’m thinking this just might be a book that parents of teen age girls should read.  (I’m avoiding making a definite recommendation until I finish the book.)  Whether or not you agree with the choices Ann makes, whether or not you are convinced that YOU would be stronger and not allow this to happen to yourself, nor would your daughter or sister, this book offers some insight into the world that far too many young women find themselves trapped.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
