RSS

Shot Through Velvet by Ellen Byerrum

19 Mar

  Shot Through Velvet by Ellen Byerrum

Book Summary:  Fashion reporter Lacey Smithsonian is touring a failing velvet factory in Virginia on its final day of operations-and finds one of the factory owners dead, lashed to a spool of velvet and soaked in blue dye. The workers are delighted, since they blamed the “Blue Devil” for killing their jobs.

But when another nickname, the “Velvet Avenger”, makes the rounds, and ribbons of blue velvet start popping up, it could be more than Lacey’s job at stake-it could be her life…

What I liked about the book:  I am never disappointed when I read books from this series.  I sometimes which I was Lacy Smithsonian.  When I was younger, I toyed with the idea of being a reporter. I even spent a summer as an intern on a newspaper in Texas’ Rio Grande Valley.  And I love vintage clothing. So for me personally, this book and the others in the series are a good reading fit.

In this installment Byerrum manages to provide an intriguing mystery while also acknowledging the economic downturn much of the nation is experiencing during the book’s time frame.  The characters surrounding Lacy also serve to make the story/series an entertaining read.  From her love interest Vic Donovan to her annoying co-worker Felicity Pickles, you never know what Lacy is going to have to deal with.  I just wonder if her editor Mac truly recognizes the gem he has working for him.

What I didn’t like about the book:  I liked it all.

If you enjoy mysteries, poking fun at D.C. residents, and are looking for some fashion tips, this is a series you don’t want to miss.  I can hardly wait to read the next installment Death on Heels which was released on February 7, 2012.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
