RSS

Buttercream Bumpoff by Jenn McKinlay

20 Mar

  Buttercream Bump Off by Jenn McKinlay

Book Summary:  Melanie Cooper and Angie DeLaura’s Fairy Tale Cupcakes bakery is gearing up for Valentine’s Day. Unfortunately someone has iced Baxter Malloy on his first date with Mel’s mother. Now Mom’s a suspect, and Mel and Angie need to find time around frosting to dig into the man’s shady past and discover who served him his just desserts.

The delightful bakers from The Fairy Tale Bakery are back in a second installment in the series.  If you enjoyed the first one, you will certainly enjoy this one.

This is one of those series that I turn to when I just need a good reliable read.

What I liked about the book:  I like Mel. She’s a sensible heroine. Oh sure, like most amateur detectives she is convinced that the police couldn’t possibly be trusted to solve the mystery and so she takes it upon herself to save the day. However, I like the fact that she doesn’t intentionally put herself in ridiculously dangerous situations. Her sidekick, Angie is a breath of fresh air. I’d love to have a best friend like her.  She’s a force to be reckoned with, but has a heart of gold.  I particularly liked that in this installment, Angie finally gets a love life.  Though I must admit, I’m a little worried about Mel’s.

Many cozy mysteries have one character that the reader is not supposed to like – you know that annoying pain in the side character. In this series, it’s Olivia Plunkett – rival baker. What I like about this series and this book in particular, the annoying character is not overwhelmingly annoying. In some mysteries, the annoying character plays too big of a role and sometimes gets in the way of the actual mystery.

And of course, I love that the book includes cupcake recipes. I really want to try some of them, but I’m not sure my waistline can take the risk.

What I didn’t like about the book: As I said this is a series that I turn to when I need a solid good read. I was not disappointed.

I highly recommend this series for anyone who loves cozy mysteries. It’s an A+ series.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Buttercream Bumpoff by Jenn McKinlay

  1. my recent favorite books

    March 24, 2012 at 8:42 am

    I love this series also! =)
    Ive got the third book sitting in my tbr stack, and I cant wait to read it.
    I posted my review on my blogspot blog –
    http://readingnks.blogspot.com/2012/02/review-buttercream-bumpoff-by-jenn.html

     
  2. my recent favorite books

    March 24, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I really enjoy this series also! Ive got the 3rd one sitting in my tbr stack, and I cant wait to read it!
    I posted my review on my blogspot blog –
    http://readingnks.blogspot.com/2012/02/review-buttercream-bumpoff-by-jenn.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
