RSS

Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle

28 Mar

*

Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle

From the inside flap:  Clare’s Village Blend beans are being used to create a new java love potion: a “Mocha Magic Coffee” billed as an aphrodisiac.  Clare may even try some on her boyfriend, NYPD detective Mike Quinn — when he’s off duty of course . . .

The product, expected to rake in millions, will be sold exclusively on Aphrodite’s Village, one of the web’s most popular online communities for women.  But the launch party ends on a sour note when one of the Web site’s editors is found dead.

When more of the Web site’s Sisters of Aphrodite start to die, Clare is convinced someone wants the coffee’s secret formula — and is willing to kill to get it. Clare isn’t about to spill the beans but will she be next on the hit list.

Murder, Coffee, and Chocolate – what more could a mystery bookworm want?

This is the tenth installment in the Coffee House Mystery series and I enjoyed this book just as much as all the ones before it.

They say that revenge is a dish best served cold, but it can also be as bitter poorly brewed coffee. And bitter revenge is at the heart of this story. In addition to a well crafted (if slightly darker) mystery, we also get a glimpse into Madame’s back story. Even if coffee is not your thing, mystery lovers will still enjoy this series and this installment in particular. Readers who find cozy mysteries to be a little too light, but are not quite ready for a true blood and guts thriller will find Murder by Mocha a nice compromise.

What I liked about this book:  Personally, I like the inclusion of recipes and coffee brewing tips. However, if they are not your “cup of tea” you can easily ignore them as they are included at the end of the book rather than scattered throughout the story.  I love all the regular characters. Reading about them is like having coffee with family.  I also especially like that there is no “irritating, pain in the butt character.”  Many cozy mysteries include an annoying character as a foil for the heroine or maybe for comic relief. I’m never quite sure.  Coyle’s characters are well developed and in my opinion very interesting. I would love to learn more about any of them.

What I didn’t like about the book:  OK. The new barista, Nancy seems a little goofy. It was hard to figure out if she was truly the bumpkin she appears to be or if maybe she is hiding something. I wasn’t sure why she was added to the story, but it certainly didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book.

If you have read any of my previous reviews of the Coffee House Mysteries you will know that I am a big fan. When I find a series I enjoy this much, I always begin to worry if the series will eventually get boring or annoying or just lose something.  I’m very pleased to say that is not the case with this series. Murder by Mocha is a must read for Coyle fans and anyone who likes a mystery with a good cup of Joe.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle

  1. my recent favorite books

    March 28, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    I love this series! =)
    I have read only one of the books from this series, but it captured my attention! very well written!
    Love the mention of chocolate drinks!

     
  2. my recent favorite books

    March 28, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Ive read one of the books from this series ( and plan to read more ! )
    I thought the plot was well written, and the information about Chocolate drinks was very interesting!

     

Leave a Reply

 
