RSS

ARC Review of Revived by Cat Patrick

24 Apr

Revived

 FTC Disclosure:  I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Revived by Cat Patrick

Book summary:  As a little girl, Daisy Appleby was killed in a school bus crash. Moments after the accident, she was brought back to life.

 A secret government agency has developed a drug called Revive that can bring people back from the dead, and Daisy Appleby, a test subject, has been Revived five times in fifteen years. Daisy takes extraordinary risks, knowing that she can beat death, but each new death also means a new name, a new city, and a new life. When she meets Matt McKean, Daisy begins to question the moral implications of Revive, and as she discovers the agency’s true goals, she realizes she’s at the center of something much larger — and more sinister — than she ever imagined.
We live in a dare devil world (or at least I do). Mr. Booklady is a retired combat engineer and likes to ride motorcycles (and he likes for me to tag along on the back of the bio.)  The idea of a drug that could “cure death” was intriguing.  The moral implications alone would provide much for discussion.
What I liked about the book: I loved the pacing of this book.  From the moment I picked up the book, the story just flowed. So often these days it seems that so many books (even very good ones) are just a struggle to get through. Maybe I have too many things competing for my attention, but I just breezed right through Revived.  Daisy’s character is very well written. She’s a teen with an extraordinary life.  She’s died five times.  Surprisingly she’s a little more grounded, practical if you will, than I would have expected.  Knowing you can die and be brought back is bound to give even the most mature adult a cavalier attitude about death. Daisy does have a rather blasé attitude about death, but that all changes when she meets knew friend, Audrey.  Audrey is dying and Revive can’t help her.  This makes Daisy begin to question her life and the whole “Revive” program.  Patrick weaves this transition in Daisy’s life with great craftsmanship.  The premise for this story is very interesting, but for me it was Daisy that made the story.  She’s a very likable character – in many ways a typical teen girl.  I also liked Mason, Daisy’s adopted father. I would have liked to learned more about him.  Daisy does have a love interest – Audrey’s brother, Matt.  I really like Patrick’s style of character development in this story.  There were no flat characters.  This is very well written book.  And I will be recommending it to several of my readers.  In fact I already have a list of people who want to be the next person to read this book.
What I didn’t like about the book:  There was only one thing I didn’t like about this book.  The person in charge of the super secret government program that developed Revive is referred to as “God.”  Those who work for him are referred to as disciples and the test subjects are known as converts.  We never learn the real name of the head of the program.  He’s not a likable character. (He’s not supposed to be.)  As a Christian, this one aspect of the book made me uncomfortable – but not so much that I stopped reading it.  I mention it in the interest of providing an honest review and because I do have some readers that might also be bothered by this aspect.
Somehow I missed Patrick’s debut novel Forgotten. I’ve now added it to my out of control to be read pile.  After reading Revived, I’m looking forward to reading more of Patrick’s work.
If you like young adult novels with a twist and are looking for something different from the usual teen angst or paranormal story, I recommend you give Revived a try.
This book will be released on May 1st, 2012.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
