RSS

A Deadly Grind by Victoria Hamilton

07 May

FTC Disclosure:  I received an advance copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

A Deadly Grind by Victoria Hamilton

Summary:

When vintage cookware and cookbook collector Jaymie Leighton spies an original 1920s Hoosier brand kitchen cabinet at an estate auction, it’s love at first sight. Despite the protests of her sister that the 19th-century yellow-brick house they share in Michigan is already too cluttered with Jaymie’s “junk,” she successfully outbids the other buyers and triumphantly takes home her Hoosier.

But that night on the summer porch where they’ve left the Hoosier to be cleaned up, a man is murdered, struck on the head with  the steel meat grinder that is part of the cabinet. Who is this stranger—and what was he doing on their porch? Does his death have anything to do with the Hoosier?

As the police struggle to determine the man’s identity, Jaymie can’t help doing a little digging on her own, accompanied by her three-legged Yorkie Poo, Hopalong. But in her bid to uncover the truth about the hidden secrets of the Hoosier, Jaymie may be the one who ends up going, going…gone.

Anyone who knows me knows I love mysteries and I love antique/vintage items.  My own kitchen has several treasures that are from my Granny’s kitchen.  I don’t use them because I’m afraid my teen age boys will shatter them. 🙂  When I first read the description of this new series, I was sure this would be a good reading match for me. I was right!

What I liked about the book: It is a very well written quick read.  I didn’t want to put the book down. I also connected with the story because of the auction. (I worked for an auction company for extra spending money when I was in college. Of course, I often spent all my earnings at the auctions I was working.)  The story starts with Jaymie and her sister attending an estate auction.  The mystery begins right away when Jaymie overhears a furtive conversation about a valuable button.  The author does a great job with character development.  She sets a strong foundation at the beginning of the book and continues to build on it throughout the story. Jaymie is a strong female character.  And though, like most cozy sleuths she does poke her nose into the police investigation she’s really not a ditzy character that takes unbelievable chances. She’s very well grounded.  I enjoyed that there were no “annoying characters” in this story. You know what I mean.  Many mysteries have a character that whose only job in the story is to be obnoxious and try to make things difficult for the heroine.  I guess I find those characters so annoying because I know too many of them in real life. The author does briefly introduce us to one character that I’m sure will be “that annoying character” in future books. But I’m sure Jaymie will be able to handle her just fine.  And finally I loved that recipe makeover included at the end of the book. It was nice to the original recipe alongside the modernized version.

What I didn’t like about the book: I LOVED it all!

I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves mysteries and vintage things, especially vintage kitchen items.  I can hardly wait for the next book in the series.

Victoria Hamiltonis a pseudonym for national bestselling author Donna Lee Simpson, who is also a collector of vintage cookware and recipes.  If you would like to win a copy of this book visit Debbie’s Book Bag.She has posted a review and is also offering a finished copy of the book to one lucky winner.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
