RSS

ARC Review of A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix

21 May

FTC Disclosure:  I received an advance reader’s copy of this book from the Amazon Vine program in exchange for an honest review.

A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix

Summary from the back of the book: 

You’d think being a Prince in a vast intergalactic empire would be about as good as it gets. Particularly when Princes are faster, smarter, and stronger than normal humans. Not to mention being mostly immortal.

But it isn’t as great as it sounds. Princes need to be hard to kill—as Khemri learns the minute he becomes one—for they are always in danger. Their greatest threat? Other Princes. Every Prince wants to become Emperor, and the surest way to do so is to kill, dishonor, or sideline any potential competitor. There are rules, but as Khemri discovers, rules can be bent and even broken.

Soon Khemri is drawn into the hidden workings of the Empire and dispatched on a secret mission. In the ruins of space battle he meets a young woman called Raine, who challenges his view of the Empire, of Princes, and of himself.

But Khemri is a Prince, and even if he wanted to leave the Empire behind, there are forces that have very definite plans for his future. . . .

Even though I had read the above description before requesting this book from the Amazon Vine program, I was expecting this to be more fantasy than science fiction.  I often struggle with true science fiction books because they tend to be very technical.  When I first started reading A Confusion of Princes I was a bit dismayed that I had not clued in that this would more technical than fanstastical.

The dismay was short lived. Nix has written such an engaging story that I found myself engrossed to the point where I barely noticed all the science technology details.  This is the first book I’ve read by Nix. I know he’s rather popular and based on A Confusion of Princes I can understand why.

What I liked about the book: I liked Khemri.  When we first meet him, he’s not a very likable character. He’s immature and self centered. But he learns from his mistake and we get to witness his growth through out the book. The pacing works very well making it for a quick and enjoyable read.

What I didn’t like about the book: As I said I’m not a big techy fan, but I didn’t find that this took away from the book. There is a bit of violence, some sexual innuendo and a tad bit of foul language.  I think the book would have been just as good without these, but again they were not enough to take away from the story.

Amazon recommends the book for ages 13 and up.  That feels about right. While it is a good story and I’m sure some of my higher level readers would enjoy the story, I do feel this book is better suited for a middle school or high school library. Therefore I won’t be purchasing it for my elementary school library, but I will recommend it to older readers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
