RSS

ARC Review of Lone Bean by Chudney Ross

24 Jul

20120724-144635.jpg

FTC Disclosure: I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book from the Amazon Vine program in exchange for an honest review.

Lone Bean by Chudney Ross

Summary from the back of the back cover: “Bean Gibson is so excited about the first day of third grade, not even her m-e-a-n MEAN older sisters, Rose and Gardenia, can bring her down.

But when Bean’s best friend has a new best friend and Bean’s dad tells her she has to learn a musical instrument, her year gets off to a bad start. Turns out she h-a-t-e-s HATES third grade! Can Bean make new friends, conquer the violin, and get her mom to stop spending so much time at work?”

What I liked about this book: This was a delightful story about the joys and perils of third grade. Fans of Sarah Pennypacker’s Clementine, Beverly Cleary’s Ramona and Megan McDonald’s Judy Moody will love Bean Gibson. Lone Bean is a great classroom read aloud. I can’t wait to share this book with my third grade teachers so they can share it with their students. As a parent and an educator, I enjoyed how Bean learned from her escapades. Ross paints a wonderfully entertaining picture of a precocious and very likable third grader. Bean does learn from her mistakes, but Ross doesn’t beat the reader over the head with a message about consequences. Young readers will identify with Bean and her challenges of being the youngest sister and dealing with a best friend who doesn’t want to be her best friend anymore.

I don’t know if this will be a series. I hope so. I would love to read more about Bean’s adventures.

If you would like to learn more about Chudney Ross visit her website.

What I didn’t like about the book: This book is a real winner. I loved it all.

Release date: June 26, 2012
Recommended for: 3rd – 5th grades

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: