RSS

ARC Review: SON by Lois Lowry

27 Sep

20120926-060131.jpg

FTC Disclosure: I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book from the Amazon Vine Program in exchange for an honest review.

Son by Lois Lowry

Summary from the back of the book: “They called her Water Claire.” When she washed up on their shore, no one knew she had been a Vessel. That she had carried a Product. That it had been carved from her belly. Stolen. Claire had had a son. She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. And when he was taken from their community, she knew she had to follow. In the years that pass, Claire knows she will stop at nothing to find her child . . . even if it means trading her own life.

Lois Lowry is one of my all time favorite authors. The Giver is my favorite Newbery winner. When Amazon Vine offered me a chance to review this long awaited conclusion to The Giver, I jumped at the chance. I was not disappointed.

I remember reading The Giver for the first time and being both delighted and disappointed that there was no true conclusion. I enjoyed Gathering Blue, but felt it didn’t live up to its predecessor. The Messenger was better than Gathering Blue but still left me with that disturbing feeling you get when you know a story isn’t finished, but you are not sure you will ever get the conclusion. Son was just what I was looking for to wrap up this compelling dystopian tale.

Now for the hard part: how to talk about this book without giving spoilers. . .

Lowry’s writing is exquisitely beautiful and moving. One reviewer commented that English teachers across the nation would be glad to see this book. I believe she was right.

The book is divided into three parts – each serving as a separate story that all combine to tell one final tale. The first part happens in the same time frame as The Giver. The second part takes place in another community after The Giver ends. The ending takes place in yet another community after the ending of The Messenger. Each of the sections tells Claire’s story – from birthmother to searcher and finally to silent observer (I hope that’s not giving away too much.)

I do wish I had re-read Gathering Blue and The Messenger before reading Son. I was still able to follow along, even though it has been several years since I read them. It would have been nice to have refreshed my memory.

The Giver is a truly exceptional book. Son while not as exceptional is a good conclusion. I highly recommend it to teen readers and adults. I would love to buy this for my school library, but the very beginning of the book is a bit too mature for elementary readers.

Amazon recommends the book for ages 12 and up. I would recommend it for 8th grade and up.

It’s an all around great read. I give it a full 5 stars!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
