RSS

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

06 Oct

20121006-093853.jpg

I’m doing my usual game of multi-tasking. Today is the annual Mountain Shadow Riders Breast Cancer Awareness Ride aka Save The Twins. Last year (my first year attending) the weather was so warm and sunny I ended up with a sunburn. This year, there’s frost everywhere and in some places actual ice and possible snow. So the ride has been turned into a big inside party. It’s all for a good cause, but I’m trying to put the down time to good use. Thank goodness for my iPad and the WordPress App.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl is about a marriage gone horribly wrong. On the outside the “happy couple” – Nick and Amy look like the perfect All American couple. But we all know looks can be deceiving. Amy disappears and of course the first one the police look at is Nick. Did he do something to her or is Amy just a runaway bride? I’ll stop the description there, otherwise I’ll give away too much of the story. And I hate reviews that include spoilers.

This book was a “peer pressure” read. You know, when all your friends are reading it and the holds list at the library numbers over 500? Seriously, a good friend of mine told me that it was a very good read and she was curious to see what I thought of it. She even gave me her library book – knowing I could get the book read before it’s due date.

The story is told in alternating view points between Nick and Amy. Nick’s entries take place during the investigation into Amy’s disappearance. Amy’s entries start with excerpts from her diary. Some readers don’t enjoy a story told this way, but I often find it an interesting way to tell a story.

Now for my take on the story. In many ways it is an entertaining read, well written and certainly a thriller. However, I really didn’t like this book. I couldn’t find one character that I liked or for which I felt even the remotest sympathy. Nick is just a jerk and maybe he really is “the baby of the family.” Amy, however is a sociopath of the first order. It is disheartening to think that a relationship such as theirs could actually exist.

I was also a bit bothered by the language. I suppose Flynn included it to show the true nature of Amy and Nick, but so many utterances of the “F” word just become annoying after a while.

I know this book will have great “thriller” appeal for many readers. And even though I didn’t like the story, I did think it was well written. The characters, though not likable are at least well developed. And though I figured out part of the plot early on, there are plenty of twists and turns.

I’m not sure to whom I would recommend this book – some of my readers would find it to be a wonderful read, but they could just as easily be offended by almost every aspect of the book. So here’s my suggestion – if you like fiction with a sociopathic twist that could possibly be ripped from the headlines – then give this book a shot. After all, if you don’t like it you don’t have to finish it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

 
