RSS

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

13 Nov

20121113-074424.jpg

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Goodreads Summary “Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered — in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the Captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

It was the cover of this fantasy debut that caught my eye. I don’t believe in judging a book by it’s cover, but to be honest, it is often the cover that causes us to pick up book we might not normally pick up. The cover art is just beautiful. Reading the summary on Goodreads is what made me add it to my overwhelming to be read list.

I’m glad I did. I’m a fan of dragon fantasy. I’m also a fan of books with strong female characters. Seraphina is an excellent example of both. And to make it even better there is a hint of mystery in the story. Who is really responsible for the death of Lucian’s uncle?

The story is full of several likable characters, from Seraphina, to Prince Lucian and even Seraphina’s robot like uncle Orma. Orma reminds me of a somewhat more human-like Mr. Spock. Considering Orma’s true nature (I don’t want to give a blatant spoiler here), he would probably prefer I left off the human-like descriptor.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys dragon fantasy. It’s a cut above. I understand that it’s the first in a series. I’m looking forward to the next installment.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

  1. Brittany

    November 13, 2012 at 8:27 am

    I can’t wait to read this! I’ve heard so many great things about it, and your review just makes me want to read it even more šŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
