RSS

Saturday Snapshot

17 Nov
Saturday Snapshot
It’s easy to participate- just post a picture that was taken by
you, a friend, or a family member, and add your link
on Alyce’s site. (no pictures from the internet!)

 

 Every year in the library, I teach lessons related to Veteran’s Day.  It takes me two weeks because it takes me two weeks to see all six grades.  With the third graders I read Margot Raven’s America’s White Table.  This is one of my favorite photos that I have taken with this lesson. I always set up an example of the POW/MIA table in the library.  And, just like the girl in Raven’s book, I write hero in the grains of salt that represent the family’s tears.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Saturday Snapshot

  1. Kim V

    November 17, 2012 at 7:51 am

    What a neat way to teach the importance of Veteran’s Day! Thanks for passing it forward to the future!

     
  2. BermudaOnion

    November 17, 2012 at 10:43 am

    That sounds like a book I need to read.

     
  3. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks)

    November 17, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I haven’t read that book, but it looks like it would be touching.

     
  4. Christine Harding

    November 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    What an imaginative way to teach children about war. My Snapshot is at http://goo.gl/qkrST

     

Leave a Reply

 
