RSS

A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

13 Dec

dark and grimmA Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

Summary from Goodreads:  In this mischievous and utterly original debut, Hansel and Gretel walk out of their own story and into eight other classic Grimm-inspired tales. As readers follow the siblings through a forest brimming with menacing foes, they learn the true story behind (and beyond) the bread crumbs, edible houses, and outwitted witches.

Fairy tales have never been more irreverent or subversive as Hansel and Gretel learn to take charge of their destinies and become the clever architects of their own happily ever after.

I love adaptations of Grimm stories. So when I saw this book on the shelves a few years ago, I bought a copy for my collection.  Well, you know how out of control my To Be Read list is! (It has a life of its own!) I forgot about it until I saw an autographed copy at 2011 Texas Book Festival. I missed out on seeing Adam Gidwitz’s presentation, but I snagged an autographed copy, but didn’t move the book up on my TBR pile until this month when I found out that some of my TAG students (namely, the boys) were obsessed with the book and were anxious for me to order book two.

This is a tale dark and gruesome. Gidwitz’s story follow the traditional Grimm pattern. Surely, you all know that the original Grimm stories have very little resemblance to the sanitized fairy tales that we share with our children today. Disney stories they are not.  A Tale Dark and Grimm is indeed a very dark story. Hansel and Gretel are on a serious and dangerous quest. And of course, most of  – if not all – the adults are either stupid, evil or both.  And that is why I think it appeals to young male readers.

Though a little darker than what I normally prefer to read, it was hard to put the book down. I don’t know if I was holding out for a happy ending or what, but Gidwitz had me hooked. I’ve already snagged a copy of the sequel: In A Glass Grimmly from the library.

This story is not for the faint of heart, but if you like Grimm and Gruesome, then this is the book for you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
