RSS

HBRC 2012 Catch Up – Days 7, 8 and 9

24 Dec
HBRC 12

HBRC 12

Santa must have decided I’ve been a bad girl because he brought me an early bag of coal (nasty cold) for Christmas. I’ve been battling a cold/flu/something since Friday.  It sucks to be sick for the holidays, but at least I’m not trying to teach while feeling this way.

So time for catch up.

HBRC Day 7 – What Authors Do You Follow on Facebook or Twitter?

I follow tons of authors on Facebook and Twitter.  As an elementary school librarian, following authors via social media helps me stay somewhat on top of new books and trends.  Here are just a few of the authors I follow on Facebook.

 

Ellen Byerrum

 

Jen McKinlay

Erika Chase

Sarah Prineas

Laura Childs

Michael Grant

Michael Scott

Rick Riordan

Ellery Adams

Julie Hyzy

Elaine Viets

Cleo Coyle

Sara Rosett

Maggie Sefton

Hannah Reed

Lorraine Bartlett

J. B. Stanley

HBRC – Day 8 – Hit And Miss

Today share a book that knocked you off of your feet and a book that disappointed you.

HIT:  Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Seraphina

Seraphina

This was a cover impulse read for me – and to be honest, those don’t always work out for me.  However, Seraphina is just as good as the cover – maybe better. I loved it!  My review is here.

MISS: I had a few misses this year. Books that were so disappointing that I couldn’t even finish them.

J. K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy was just so slow and hard to get into that I just took it back to the library without getting even a third of the way into the book.  Another disappointment was Once by Anna Carey.  I loved Eve and was really looking forward to the sequel, but I just never clicked with the story. It didn’t seem to have the same on the edge of your seat pace as the first one.  It has taken me a long time to give myself permission to not finish books I don’t enjoy.  (Ok, if I was given the book for review, then I finish it even if I don’t like it.)  But life is too short and my to be read pile is way too long to stick with books that I don’t have to read.

HBRC 9 FAVORITE BOOK WITH A CHRISTMAS SETTING OR THEME

The December selection for my book club was to pick a holiday related book. I love Christmas books and always make sure I treat myself each December with at least one Christmas read.  I’m currently reading Mistletoe and Mayhem by Kate Kingsbury  – it’s a Victorian Cozy Mystery.  I think my favorite Christmas read though was one from a couple of years ago: Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball by Donita K. Paul.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “HBRC 2012 Catch Up – Days 7, 8 and 9

  1. Julie Graves

    December 24, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Thanks so much for “catching up” Great posts! It has taken me a while also to be able to put a book down before finishing it. I think part of my personality is to start at A and end at B so it is very hard for me to leave things unfinished. But as you say the “to be read” pile is just to high to waste time on reads that are sub-par. Thanks for hanging in with us! Hope you are on the mend and have a relaxing, fun-filled Christmas!

    Julie(Edifying)

     
  2. Kristine Hall

    December 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Like you, I really enjoyed EVE. I downloaded something that gave me the first nine chapters of ONCE, and I really liked it to that point, but I never was able to find the book to borrow. Sounds like maybe it isn’t worth finishing. . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
