RSS

Top Ten of 2012 – Day One

24 Dec
2012  Top 10

2012 Top 10

And… it’s top 10 Week!  I’ve been waiting for this week…holding myself back 🙂

Top 10 of 2012 is hosted by Lisa from A Life Bound By Books, Rachel from Fiktshun, Jaime fromTwo Chicks on Books, Mindy from Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Jessica from Confessions of a Bookaholic.  As my students will tell you, when it comes to favorite books I can never pick just one. So, I picked my top ten for different categories.

Top Ten Picture Books

1. Oh No! by Candace Fleming

2. Bear Has A Story to Tell by Philip Stead

3. Mossy by Jan Brett

4. Penny and Her Doll by Kevin Henkes

5.  Black Out by John Rocco

6. Step Gently Out by Helen Frost

7. Olivia and the Fairy Princesses by Ian Falconer

8. Art & Max by David Wiesner

9. A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

10.  Unspoken by Henry Cole

Top 10 YA

  1. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore
  2.  Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  3. Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson
  4. Son by Lois Lowery
  5. The Enchantress by Michael Scott
  6. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  7. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  8. Mastiff by Tamora Pierce
  9. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
  10. Crossed by Ally Condie

Top 10 Mysteries

  1. Death on Heels by Ellen Byerrum
  2. A Killer Read by Erica Chase
  3. Grace Among Thieves by Julie Hyzy
  4. A Cookie Before Dying Virginia Lowell
  5. A Deadly Grind by Victoria Hamilton
  6. The Last Word by Ellery Adams
  7. Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle
  8. Shot Through Velvet by Ellen Byerrum
  9. Buried in a Book by Lucy Arlington
  10.  It Takes a Witch by Heather Blake

 

 

Top 10 Middle Grade (Elementary Chapter Books)

  1. Winter According to Humphrey by Betty Birney
  2. Amber Brown is Tickled Pink by Bruce Coville
  3. The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer
  4. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  5. Wonder by R. J. Palacio
  6. Nancy Clancy Super Sleuth by Jane O’Connor
  7. Pie by Sarah Weeks
  8. Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood
  9. Breaking Stalin’s Nose by Eugene Yelchin

10. Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sarah Penny Packer.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Top Ten of 2012 – Day One

  1. Heather McBride

    December 24, 2012 at 7:02 am

    What a great idea, to break it up into genres! 🙂 Love the list. I have checked out Seraphina at least twice from my library, but have yet to have time to read it. Maybe next time! Here’s my list, if you’re interested: http://proudbooknerd.com/2012/12/24/top-10-of-2012-best-books/

     
  2. Claire @ Project to be Read

    December 24, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Great idea to do a top ten of each type of book! I love Cleo Coyle’s books but I’ve not had a chance to read Murder by Mocha yet.

    My Top 10 of 2012 is here if you’d like a look 🙂

     
  3. Carmel (@RabidReads)

    December 24, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Veronica Roth’s books seem to be popular picks today; I guess it’s about time that I check them out. Thanks for sharing your top picks!

     
  4. Briana

    December 24, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I loved reading the Amber Brown books when I was younger!

    I haven’t read Pierce’s new series, but I was also in love with her books during middle school.

    Thanks for sharing a variety of lists!

     
  5. suecccp

    December 25, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    A great selection: I haven’t read all of these, but quite a few are on my TBR list! 🙂

    My Top 10 Reads: http://coffeecookiesandchilipeppers.blogspot.com/2012/12/top-10-of-2012-best-books-read-in-2012.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
