RSS

HBRC – Day 15 Favorite Series or Favorite Book as a Young Adult

30 Dec
HBRC 2012

HBRC 2012

Today’s task is to talk about your favorite series or book when you were a young adult.  Mine are listed below.  Check out Edifying and Edgy to see what others picked.

I couldn’t pick just one, but I was able to narrow it down to two.

When I was 11 or 12 someone introduced me to Agatha Christie and I was hooked.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In elementary school I had discovered one of my dad’s old Hardy Boys‘ books and of course I loved Nancy Drew, but Dame Christie solidified my love of mysteries. I have been a die hard Cozy Mystery fan ever since.

Tied with my love of mysteries are young adult/teen books.  When I was a freshman in high school, my English class read The Hobbit together. I loved it, but I was frustrated with how long it was taking the class to read the book, so I just finished it on my own and read The Fellowship of the Ring Trilogy on my own while waiting for the rest of the class to finish The Hobbit. It’s been one of my top favorite series ever since. It’s the series that solidified my love of fantasy.

The Hobbit

The Hobbit

I have a ton of young adult books/series that I absolutely adore, but most of them were discovered long after I became an adult. When I was young, I tended to read way above my age.  Now, the reverse is true. With the exception of the cozy mysteries and few adult books, I mostly read elementary, middle grade and teen books.  And if anyone accuses me of slipping into a second child hood, I just tell them it’s all work related.  🙂

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “HBRC – Day 15 Favorite Series or Favorite Book as a Young Adult

  1. gravesok

    December 30, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Oh I’m an Agatha Christie fan too! Love her books!

     

Leave a Reply

 
