RSS

HBRC Day 16 – Top 12 of 2012

31 Dec
HBRC 2012

HBRC 2012

Today’s task is to list your top 12 reads of 2012.

I stink at this. I can never keep it to the limit.  This year I read over 350 books. And I’m supposed to pick 12 out of 350?  So I usually cheat and pick my top 12 (or whatever the assigned number is) in different genres.  For this task I picked up to 12 in  the following categories: Teen, Middle Grade, Picture, Mystery, and Adult. (The Adult category is the only one that I didn’t have 12 favorites. Oh, I think I read 12 or so, but not all of them were that good.)  Not all of the books are 2012 releases, but they are all ones I read in 2012.

Now if you read one of my earlier “top” posts you might find some different titles on this one. It’s like I tell my students when they ask me what is my favorite book is – it depends on the day, what mood I’m in and probably the phase of the moon.  To me favorite books are like bites of chocolate – you can’t just have one (or 12).  Thank goodness I have a bit more will power when it comes to chocolate than I do when it comes to books.

Top 12 Teen Reads of 2012 

  1. Crossed by Ally Condie
  2. Reached by Ally Condie
  3. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement Moore
  4. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  5. Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson
  6. Son by Lois Lowry
  7. Enchantress by Michael Scott
  8. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  9. Mastiff by Tamora Pierce
  10.  Revived by Cat Patrick
  11. Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  12. Hallowed Ones by Laura Bickle

 Top 12 Middle Grade Reads of 2012

  1. Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz
  2. Winter According to Humphrey by Betty Birney
  3. Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer
  4. Wonder by R. J. Palacio
  5. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  6. Much Ado About Ann by Heather Vogel Frederick
  7. Nancy Clancy Super Sleuth by Jane O’Connor
  8. Pie by Sarah Weeks
  9. Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood
  10. Breaking Stalin’s Nose by Eugene Yelchin
  11. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
  12. Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sarah Pennypacker

Top 12 Picture Book Reads of 2012

  1. Unspoken by Henry Cole
  2. Oh! No! by Candace Fleming
  3. Mossy by Jan Brett
  4. Sky Color by Peter Reynolds
  5. Step Gently Out by Helen Foster
  6. Otto the Book Bear by Katie Cleminson
  7. Blackout by John Rocco
  8. Bear Has A Story to Tell by Phillip Stead
  9. A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka
  10. Olivia and the Fairy Princesses by Ian Falconer
  11. Bone Dog by Eric Rohman
  12. Penny and Her Doll by Kevin Henkes

Top 12 Cozy Mystery Reads in 2012

  1. It Takes a Witch by Heather Blake
  2. Death on Heels by Ellen Byerrum
  3. Killer Read by Erika Chase
  4. Killer Librarian by Mary Lou Kirwin
  5. Grace Among Thieves by Jullie Hyzy
  6. A Cookie Before Dying by Virginia Lowel
  7. A Deadly Grind by Victoria Hamilton
  8. The Last Word by Ellery Adams
  9. Murder by Mocha by Cleo Coyle
  10. Shot Through Velvet by Ellen Byerrum
  11. Buried in a Book by Lucy Arlington
  12. Lost and Fondue by Avery Aames

 Top Adult Reads in 2012

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  2. Taking Care of Frankie by Maeve Binchy
  3.  A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Coleman
  4. Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson
  5. Home Front by Kristin Hannah
  6. Night Road by Kristin Hannah
  7. Wife 22 by Melodie Gideon
  8. Defending Jacob by William Landay
 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “HBRC Day 16 – Top 12 of 2012

  1. gravesok

    December 31, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Great lists Beverly! Wow! 350 books?! I’m impressed!!

     
    • bevarcher

      December 31, 2012 at 8:01 am

      I’m actually down this year. Last year I read a bit over 500 – but keep in mind I’m an elementary school librarian. Picture books make up a large number of the books I read.

       
  2. Tracy Hora

    December 31, 2012 at 8:13 am

    Love your list. What a great way to count lots of books! : ) I also loved Son and The One and Only Ivan. I was shocked that I didn’t give The One and Only 5 stars. I would have picked it as a favorite from “my memory” list. I like your explanation for favorites…the day, the mood, etc. So true!

     

Leave a Reply

 
