RSS

Escucha Means Listen Tour – Interview/Review/Giveaway

12 Jan
Escucha Means Listen

Escucha Means Listen

Welcome to my stop on the Escucha Means Listen Blog Tour hosted by I Am A Reader, Not a Writer.

From the mowing of the lawn to the splish-splashing of rain puddles, Talia Aikens-Nuñez’s bilingual picture book Escucha Means Listen introduces toddlers and babies to the sweet sounds around them.

Take a journey through the world—just listening. Escucha Means Listen helps children discover sounds around them in English and Spanish.

 

 

 

 

 






Excerpt
Buzz. Buzz. Qué oyes? (What do you hear?)
Las abejas (The bees) circling the flowers.

Woosh. Woosh. What do you hear?
El viento (The wind) is whistling by.

Shh. Shh. Qué oyes? (What do you hear?)
Las hojas (The leaves) are dancing on the trees.

Purchase

Author Talia Aikens-Nuñez  

Talia Aikens-Nuñez wanted to be a meteorologist, a politician and a lawyer. She never thought she would be a writer. It was the birth of her daughter that caused her to start writing. Raising a bilingual child inspired Talia to write lyrical children’s books. These ‘first experience’ books introduce Spanish to children and parents too! Talia’s family loves nature so much that she and her husband vowed that they will always try to live close to water. She, her husband and daughter live on a river in Connecticut with their daughter Isabella.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I realized I first wanted to be a writer when I was looking for books for my daughter. I wanted more colorful, bright, multicultural books for her. There are definitely some writers out there that wrote these types of books but my daughter loves books. And, she loves to have different books. So, I thought I could add to this group of writers.
How long does it take you to write a book?
That varies. I sometimes sit down and can only come up with 5 words. Other times I sit down and write (or edit) half a children’s chapter book. Sometimes I am amazingly inspired and other times I cannot come up with a word after ‘the’.
What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?
That varies too. There have been days that I will write until my bottom goes numb and there are other days not one word comes to me.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
While editing, I read it out loud to hear the flow and to feel the words more. I know, it is weird but I really enjoy that part.
What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
Anything that involves water–I like to swim in it, float on it, look at it…you name it!
What does your family think of your writing?
My family loves it especially my daughter. And, my husband is amazingly supportive of my dream of being a world renowned children’s author.I am amazingly blessed to have them as my support system.

MY REVIEW

I loved this e-book. I am an elementary school librarian at a school that has Spanish as one of our specials classes.  I am always looking for good, engaging books to help supplement the Spanish curriculum.  This is an excellent book for our students, especially the younger ones. Children will enjoy the colorful illustrations and the combination of English/Spanish text.  The “listening walk” the young girl takes also makes this story an excellent fit for our kindergarten curriculum.

All in all this is an excellent addition to any library or classroom collection.

There is a Rafflecopter Giveaway with this tour, but since I’m technologically challenged, I couldn’t seem to get it to post correctly.  However if you visit I Am A Reader, Not A Writer here, you should be able to enter the giveaway.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
