RSS

Review: The Worm Whisperer by Betty Hicks

13 Mar
The Worm Whisperer

The Worm Whisperer

The Worm Whisperer by Betty Hicks

Goodreads Summary:  You’ve heard of Horse Whisperers and Dog Whisperers, but Ellis thinks he might be a Worm Whisperer!

Ellis Coffey loves animals. He spends so much time outdoors that sometimes he thinks he can talk with them. When he discovers a caterpillar that seems to follow his directions, he knows he has a chance to win the annual Woolly Worm race. The prize money is $1,000–exactly the amount of the deductible for his dad’s back surgery. If Ellis is right and he can train his woolly worm to be the fastest in the county, he’s sure can solve all his family’s problems. But when you’re trying to talk to insects, nothing is as simple as it seems.

Hicks’ The Worm Whisperer is a great elementary read aloud. It’s a heart warming story of young ellis Coffey who struggles to find his way at school and to help his family who has been struggling since his mom lost his job and his dad began having back troubles.  Young readers will identify with the challenges Ellis faces at school – from becoming the class clown to dealing with a less than friendly classmate to wondering if a certain classmate likes wooly worms like he does.  Adults will appreciate Ellis’ strong character and he desire to help his family.

The Worm Whisperer is a strong well developed story.  It is an easy read for students to read on their own or for a classroom read aloud. It would be a great companion book for a unit on animals (or worms) and would work well with character education units.

Fans of  Clementine and Judy Moody & Stink will enjoy this quick read.

I will be adding it to the school library collection and will be putting it on my suggested 3rd, 4th and 5th Grades Summer Reading List.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: