RSS

Review: Between Friends by Debbie Macomber

06 Apr
Between Friends

Between Friends

Between Friends by Debbie Macomber

Goodreads Summary:  The friendship between Jillian and Lesley, told through their correspondence, begins in the 1950s and is charted through to the present in this remarkable story. Through the years and across the miles, two very different women confide in one another and prove what friendship truly means. It’s a story filled with the laughter and tears that are shared “Between Friends.”

I’m a big fan of Debbie Macomber. But I got out of the habit of reading her books as I got caught up in reviewing books to purchase for the school library.  Recently, my book club chose Debbie as an author pick for our February read. We all chose a different book to read. I actually chose God’s Guest List (which I will be reviewing later), but Between Friends was one of the many I picked up on a impulse sweep through the library.

This is a quick easy read about a life long friendship. The story is told through alternating view points using letters, news articles, and various announcements. I loved it! And it has inspired me to pick up the long lost art of letter writing. I teach primary sources to my 5th grade students.  Letters are a perfect primary source, but with the advent of email and texting, combined with busy schedules, letter writing is truly a lost art.

Though it is fiction, Between Friends is a lovely record of a lifelong friendship.  That made me think about the friends I truly cherish (which due to my having been an Army wife for over two decades are all scattered across the country.)  I don’t know of anyone who actually keeps emails/texts. I’m constantly cleaning out my email box. So, when I’m gone, what record (primary source) will there be that I even had friends or any other aspect of my life?  So, at least for this year, I’m going to work hard to make time for personal letters to the people I cherish.  Thanks, Ms. Macomber for the inspiration.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Review: Between Friends by Debbie Macomber

  1. Melissa

    April 6, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Wonderful review! Debbie Macomber is my favorite romance Author, and I really enjoy her books. =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
