RSS

Read and Buried by Erika Chase

24 Jun
I’m very honored to be part of the blog tour for  Erika Chase’s Read and Buried, book two in the Ashton Corner’s Book Club series.
Cover and Summary from Cozy Mystery Book Tours.
Read and Buried

Read and Buried

About Read and Buried:
Hosting an award-winning novelist is quite a Christmas coup for the Ashton Corners Mystery Readers and Cheese Straw Society. But when he’s murdered in Lizzie Turner’s house, she’s got a holiday homicide on her hands …

For their very first guest author event, most of the book club members can’t wait to pull out all the stops in Southern hospitality. But for Lizzie, Derek Alton is nothing but trouble—from his massive ego to his smarmy moves. When he’s found murdered in her living room, it seems someone decided that this womanizing writer would be better off dead than read.

After suspicion falls on Lizzie’s friend, she and her fellow book club members discover that Derek wasn’t who he pretended to be. Cracking this case means going up against Lizzie’s boyfriend, police chief Mark Dreyfus, and unearthing a novel’s worth of nasty secrets. And as they get closer to uncovering Derek’s scandalous final manuscript, someone hiding in plain sight is out to write finis to Lizzie’s sleuthing for good…

After reading A Killer Read, the first book in this series, I knew I would love Read and Buried.  And I was right.  Chase has created a community filled with wonderful characters that are a delight to visit.  I can go all literary critic on you and go on and on about how well the characters have great depth, the mystery/plot is well developed and how everything fits together perfectly – all of that is true. It’s excellent mystery writing.  However, I thought I would share with you a few of the reasons that I enjoyed this book and why the Ashton Corners Book Club Mystery series is on my list of series I MUST OWN.

1.  The characters!  I love them all, especially Lizzie and Molly. I would love to have them in my book club.  The male characters are pretty entertaining as well. Each of the recurring characters adds just the perfect flavor to the story.  I especially like that there is not one of those annoying nemesis type characters that you find in so many series. Oh, I understand the value of those characters, but sometimes I just want to read a story full of people I enjoy without being distracted by a character who in real life would send me running in the other direction.  You won’t find any of those in this series.

2. The Book Club! I love the idea of a book club and I have tried unsuccessfully to organize a couple of book clubs. These days, most people use book clubs more as a social event – a chance to sit around chatting, eating and drinking (there’s nothing wrong with that, but what about reading the books?).  I envy how Lizzie and Molly have managed to combine the fun social activities with actual reading.

3.  Lizzie!  I can identify with Lizzie. We both work in schools in areas that deal with literacy (I’m a school librarian).  We both love to share our love reading with others.  Actually, Lizzie reminds me of a co-worker that I greatly respect – my friend Lori who is our literacy coach. When I read about Lizzie, I picture Lori. So reading these books for me really is like visiting with good friends.

If you enjoy cozy mysteries that will not only entertain you with a well crafted plot, but will also give you some ideas for further reading, then I highly recommend you read Read and Buried (oh and you should read the first one, A Killer Read, too.)

For more info about Erika Chase check out her website here.

Ok, here is the legal stuff:

FTC Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. (However, it was already on my must read list for the summer and I can hardly wait for the next book in the series.)

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Read and Buried by Erika Chase

Leave a Reply

 
