RSS

Going Through the Notions – Author Interview and Review

04 Sep
Going Through The Notions

Going Through The Notions

Going Through The Notions by Cate Price

Summary from the author’s web page:

A retired schoolteacher—and yes, daughter of an F. Scott Fitzgerald fan—Daisy Buchanan has finally found her calling in the quaint village of Millbury, Pennsylvania. While her husband Joe endlessly renovates their old house, Daisy happily presides over Sometimes a Great Notion, a quirky shop nearby that sells sewing bits and bobs, antiques, and jewelry.

Daisy has her eye on an antique dollhouse and a classic Singer featherweight at the local auction—until her beloved friend and mentor, auctioneer Angus Backstead, is led away in handcuffs. It appears he bashed in the head of a drinking buddy who stole a set of fancy fountain pens. Daisy’s sure the sprightly old-timer couldn’t have committed such a brutal act. But she soon learns Angus had more than a few enemies … including the detective on the case with a long-held grudge.

As Daisy pursues the truth, she also uncovers some promising leads: a disgruntled heiress hunting for the missing pens; two local farm boys with a grudge against the deceased and the accused; and a twisted estate scam that entangled the dead man. But if Daisy can’t stitch together the bidder truth—and soon—Angus will be going once, going twice… gone forever.

It is my pleasure to welcome Cate Price, author of a wonderful new mystery series “Deadly Notions.”  Cate has graciously agreed to answer a few somewhat random questions.  If you would like to learn more about Cate and her books please check out her website.

 

If you could have coffee with any author (living or deceased) who would it be and why? It’s tough to pick just one, but I think I’d have to say Nora Roberts. I’ve seen her speak at several conferences and she’s always struck me as a very down-to-earth person with a wonderful, dry sense of humor. I appreciate people who “tell it like it is”. Not only is she amazingly prolific, and a great storyteller, but she writes in different genres, too. I probably wouldn’t say much. Just sit there, drink my coffee, and try to soak up as much knowledge and advice as she was prepared to share.

  • What is your favorite place to read? I usually read in bed before I go to sleep. Otherwise it’s at the table on the brick patio in my little garden, hopefully on a cool day with no mosquitoes.

What is your favorite beverage when reading? Water on the bedside table. Chardonnay in the garden.

Why did you decide to write mysteries as opposed to another genre? Back in 2001, when I made up my mind to finally finish a novel after years of jotting down drivel in myriad notebooks, I joined Romance Writers of America. It’s a great organization with local chapters across the country. With the help of the Valley Forge Romance Writers, I completed a romantic comedy, a romantic suspense and then a murder mystery with romantic elements that landed me my dream agent in 2011 and also the opportunity to write this series. I’ve found that I really enjoy the complex plotting involved in writing a mystery. It’s like a giant puzzle, and I adore puzzles of all kinds – crossword puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, forty-something-year-old bachelors, you name it.

  • Who is your favorite author? For cozy mysteries, it’s Diane Mott Davidson. I love her culinary mysteries and own every single book in the series.

What is your favorite TV show? American Pickers.

When you write do you follow a plan or is it more stream of consciousness? I used to write scenes as they came to me, almost like seeing scenes in a movie, whether they were in order or not. I’d start with an idea for a plot, or a character, and go back and forth between writing and plotting until I reached the end. With this series, I have to submit three chapters and a synopsis to my editor as a proposal for each book, which means I have to be much more structured. It was hard for me at first, because I wasn’t used to working that way – at all – but now I appreciate the value of writing the synopsis. It’s so much easier to see the plot holes and gaps in logic in the bare bones of an outline before you waste time writing yourself into a dead end. And when you’re on a tight deadline, it’s comforting to have a road map.

What is your favorite way to relax? I have two dogs, and we go for a long walk every day, and several times a day on the weekends. People in my town comment on how much I walk them, but we all look forward to it. A tired dog is a good dog!

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go? Australia, except I’m not sure I could stand to be on a plane that long.

Name a guilty pleasure. Naps. I hardly ever take them, because I always feel like I should be doing something else, like cleaning the house. But occasionally a cold, rainy Saturday will come along, and if I’m really tired, I’ll cuddle up on the couch with the dogs and snooze for an hour or two. It’s absolute heaven!

Thanks Cate for visiting today. I loved learning more about you and can’t wait to read the next Deadly Notions mystery.

Going Through the Notions Review (FTC Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.)

This book was a very enjoyable read. I’ve said before that I’m often wary of taking on a new mystery series. I already have so many favorites and as an elementary school librarian who tries very hard to read and review as many of the books in the school collection as possible, I don’t really have all that much “free” reading time.  However, something about Going Through the Notions caught my attention and I’m very glad I added it to my out of control reading list. Cate has created a wonderful small town community with interesting (and likable, perhaps even lovable) characters.  I also enjoyed the way she seamlessly wove the back story into the current one. The plot will keep you guessing.  I love Daisy. She’s a tad bit older than I am, but I really connected with her.  Must be that educator thing.  Daisy is a sensible, down to earth character that I believe most readers will connect with.

If you are looking for a new Cozy Mystery series, I highly recommend this one. The bad thing is you are going to have to wait until 2014 for the next installment, but I’m convinced it will be worth the wait.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Going Through the Notions – Author Interview and Review

  1. cateprice

    September 4, 2013 at 8:06 am

    Thank you for hosting me on your blog today, and for such a wonderful review. I really enjoyed this interview!

     
  2. Dollycas

    September 4, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Great Post! I am happy you added this book to your reading list and that you were a part of this tour!

     
  3. Melissa

    September 4, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    This looks like a great cozy! My favorite kind of cozies feature sewing and needlework.
    Thanks for the Review and Author Interview.

     
  4. Rita Wray

    September 5, 2013 at 8:50 am

    I love American Pickers, watch it every week.

     
  5. Linda R

    September 7, 2013 at 7:45 am

    Great interview. This title will go on my TBR with a note that it is a new series! Love finding a new author.

     
  6. bn100

    September 15, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    Nice interview

     

Leave a Reply

 
