RSS

“The Testing” and “Independent Study” by Joelle Charbonneau

28 Jan

The Testing  The Testing

Summary from Goodreads:

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say? But how close is too close when they may be one in the same? 

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it.  But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career.

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one.

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every grueling (and deadly) day of the Testing.    To survive, Cia must choose:  love without truth or life without trust.

I’m participating in the 2014 Just for Fun Reading Challenge hosted by Escape With Dollycas. The Testing was my fun read for January. It had been one that I had wanted to read for a while. As soon as I finished the book, I had to ask myself why I waited so long.

Charbonneau’s writing is engaging and will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like The Hunger Games or Divergent, you will like The Testing. But don’t think that this is just a cookie cutter version of those two wonderful books. Charbonneau has taken the traditional dystopian young adult novel and added her own flavor to it. Cia, though a strong character like Katniss and Tris, is different. She is not as fierce as either of them. She’s a thinker. That doesn’t meant that she won’t take action, but she does with great thought. She’s also very compassionate. I rather wish I was more like her.

When I first began reading The Testing, it was hard to not think of The Hunger Games and Divergent, but it wasn’t long before I was immersed in Cia’s world. The plot is well developed and each of the characters has many levels.  (Can’t stand flat characters, but that’s not a problem with this book.)

The second thing I asked myself after finishing The Testing was “how long do I have to wait for the next book?” Well, fortunately for me, since I had procratinated about reading TheTesting, I only had to wait less than a week for Indepdendent Study to be released.

Independent Study was just as good as The Testing and I can’t wait for the third book, Graduation Day, which is scheduled for release on June 17th.

Ind Study  graduation day

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
