RSS

Laurie Halse Anderson Visits Colorado

25 Feb
Booklady with Laurie Halse Anderson

Booklady with Laurie Halse Anderson

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Andersonthe impossible knife of memory

Goodreads SummaryFor the past five years, Hayley Kincaid and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.
Will being back home help Andy’s PTSD, or will his terrible memories drag him to the edge of hell, and drugs push him over? 

I am so far behind on my blogging. Who am I kidding? I’m so far behind on everything I’m not even sure what decade I’m in.

Laurie Halse Anderson visited The Boulder Bookstore back in January. And I was lucky enough to drive up from Colorado Springs to listen to her presentation. I had meant to blog about the experience sooner than this, but life got in the way. First, I wanted to read the book, but I had to wait for a library copy because I was not about to read my autographed copy. I generally read with a cup of coffee or tea in hand and my buddy Max (my 10 month old Pomeranian pup) nearby. Now, I’m quite skilled at this, but why take chances.  So I finally got a library copy and then no one would leave me alone long enough to get any readding done – such is my life.  But enough whining. I finally got the book read and here’s my blog post.

I love her books and was eager to meet her. Her presentation was wonderful and even though she mostly writes for older students I do wish that some of my elementary students could have heard her speak about school and how she became a writer.

The Impossible Knife of Memory was not an easy read for me. Oh, it was beautifully written and a very engaging read, but it’s covers some very serious topics. That’s Anderson’s specialty.  Her writing is very poignant. (How’s that for librarian vocabulary?)  Seriously, The Impossible Knife of Memory is a haunting story but one with a splash of hope. I loved Hayley and her father and my heart ached for both of them. I think Anderson does an awesome job portraying the struggle of dealing with a parent suffering from PTSD. Like I said, it’s not an easy read, but it’s well worth the read.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
