RSS

Spring Break Read-a-thon (written at a quite cabin in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains on March 29th)

03 Apr

 

I’ve just spent the last week in the mountains with no cell reception, no internet and no cable. Just me, my camera, the two dogs, a selection of DVDs, wine and stacks and stacks of books. Around 60 I think. No, I didn’t think I would read all those books. I just wanted to be sure I had plenty of variety for my reading pleasure. And you all know my reading tastes cover a wide range.

 

 

I brought several mysteries – you know I love mysteries. I had hoped to get caught up on a few series that I’m behind on. Unfortunately, for a few of the series I left the next book I needed to read at home. And while it is not always necessary to read cozy mysteries in order, I tend to prefer reading them in order. A few of the books were middle grade books I’m considering for the school library and next year’s Book Detectives Club. I included a few chick lit books in treasure trove and a couple of non-fiction books. (And no, not all the non-fiction books were craft books – though truthfully, most of them were.)

 

It’s been a wonderful week, despite some plumbing issues. The quiet has been blissful and being away from that horrendous to do list that I left at home has allowed me to truly relax (and I’ve only fretted a bit about how much work I will have to do when I get back to the Springs.) Each day I’ve gone out and looked at the local deer community. My husband would be so frustrated to see all these deer just casually having lunch in the yard or along the road. He didn’t see any when he went hunting in the fall. I even saw some prairie dogs (they were too quick for to get any photos) and I saw a beautiful Amish Buggy with a beautiful shot of the mountains in the background. And no, I didn’t get that photo either. I didn’t want to be intrusive – and that is why I am a librarian instead of a professional photographer.

 

When I left, I joked about not going back to my real life and there is a part of me that would like to just stay here. There’s a library about 15 miles away and I’m sure Amazon could find me here in the mountains. Though of course I would need to get some internet brought in so I could tell Amazon what to bring me. But while it’s nice to dream of hiding out here, I must be an adult and head back tomorrow to my real life and that hellish to do list.

 

As for my to be read list? I did cross off a few titles:

 

Veiled Revenge by Ellen Byerrum

A Bran New Death by Victoria Hamilton

Peach Pies and Alibis by Ellery Adams

Pecan Pies and Homicides by Ellery Adams

A Roux of Revenge by Connie Archer

Gooney Bird and All Her Charms by Lois Lowry

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

Gideon’s Spear by Darby Karchut

A Good Yarn by Debbie MaComber

Meanwhile Back at the Ranch

Athena the Brain by Joan Holub

 

iPad for Artists

OMG: The Magic Mistake by Barbara Brauner

Snails by Margo Gates

 

And there were two books that about 50 pages in, I realized were destined for my DNF (didn’t finish) list: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee (which I may attempt to read again at a later date) and The Right Fight by Chris Lynch – the first book in his World War II series. Though not the right book for me, I’m pretty sure some of the 4th and 5th grade boys at my school will enjoy it.

 

Well, there are a few hours left before my husband and youngest son arrive. Let’s see if I can mark another book of that TBR list.

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
