RSS

Sunday Ramblings

06 Apr

Sundays should be reading catch up days (well that should be any day, but certainly Sundays.)  However, about a year ago I volunteered to help out my local VFW post by becoming a volunteer bartender. So most of my Sundays are spent pouring drinks and pulling drafts while casting longing looks at my bag which always has at least one or two books tucked inside.

Last night the post had a big celebration party for the canteen manager who turned 80 this past Friday. As a result the post is very quiet today. It’s just me and the ghost, whom I’m told lives upstairs. Do you think he will mind if I get one of my current reads out and read a bit?

Speaking of current reads, I’m indulging in my usual bout of multi-reading. (I am all about multi-tasking, just wish it would result in more finished projects.) I’m reading Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald. It’s due on back at the library on Friday the 12th and there’s a list, otherwise I would be concentrating on The Secret Box by Whitaker Ringwald. I’m also reading Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor for my Book Detectives Club, re-reading The World According to Humphrey by Betty Birney for my Breakfast Serials Club and listening to Back on Blossom Street by Debbie MaComber in the car. (Why listen to the radio when driving when you can listen to a good book?)

Under The Egg is a pretty good read so far. It reminds me of Moxie and The Art of Rule Breaking by Erin Dionne. I think my students will like it.

I’m on a Blossom Street kick. I recently realized that I had not read several of the books in the series so I decided to start over from the beginning.  As you probably know my to be read list is out of control and if I tried to read the print versions MacComber would have published way too many new books in the series and I’d never get caught up – so I’m listening to them in the car. And when school is out for summer, I’ll try to get them on Playaway.  I love her books. They make me step back and really think about/reevaluate my own behavior.  The characters have to struggles, but each book has such a feeling of hope. They are nice break from some of the dystopia novels I tend to read.

Well, that’s enough rambling for today. Got to make good use of this quiet time and see if I can sneak a few pages before the regulars start showing up.

So what are you reading?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
