RSS

Review: Ladies’ Night by Mary Kay Andrews

06 Jun

ladiesnight FTC Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book as part of a Houseparty.com event.  The following is my honest review.

 

Goodreads Summary: Take a splash of betrayal, add a few drops of outrage, give a good shake to proper behavior and take a big sip of a cocktail called…Ladies’ Night!
 
Grace Stanton’s life as a rising media star and beloved lifestyle blogger takes a surprising turn when she catches her husband cheating and torpedoes his pricey sports car straight into the family swimming pool.  Grace suddenly finds herself locked out of her palatial home, checking account, and even the blog she has worked so hard to develop in her signature style.  Moving in with her widowed mother, who owns and lives above a rundown beach bar called The Sandbox, is less than ideal.  So is attending court-mandated weekly “divorce recovery” therapy sessions with three other women and one man for whom betrayal seems to be the only commonality.  When their “divorce coach” starts to act suspiciously, they decide to start having their own Wednesday “Ladies’ Night” sessions at The Sandbox, and the unanticipated bonds that develop lead the members of the group to try and find closure in ways they never imagined.  Can Grace figure out a new way home and discover how strong she needs to be to get there? 

My thoughts: Honestly, I have a hard time reading books that involve infidelity. They are just not my cup of tea. However, I have always enjoyed Mary Kay Andrews books. And I did make a committment to read the book.  Despite the cheating husbands and the nasty mean new girl friend and that it seemed as though every time she took a breath, Grace was experiencing another set back, I really did enjoy this book. In many ways I felt as though I had connected with Grace. I loved her and her mom. The other women from the divorce recovery group were rather interesting as well. Wyatt, as the only man in the recovery group kept them from being a total man-bashing group – though that is the path most of them were taking. I liked Wyatt and his story provided an alternate point of view.

Andrews created an engaging story that deals with some serious issues, but somehow manages to come off as light read, rather than a heavy one. That’s a good thing as it keeps many readers reading until the end.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a 30 minute sitcom ending or a sappy after school special (did I just date myself?) ending.

 

SPOILER:

Spoiler Alert  Spoiler Alert  Spoiler Alert

 

 

 

Grace does find her new path and it’s not one she walks alone, but it’s not just handed to her. She faces adversity along the way and she handles it with true grace (pardon the pun) and reality. She’s not a Pollyanna.

I felt uncomfortable when I first started the book (stories about cheating spouses just make me ill), but I actually felt good when I finished the book.

Ladies’ Night is a great any time of the year read, but if you are headed to the beach or the mountains – wherever your summer travels take you – be sure to pack a copy of this book.  I’ll be taking Andrews’ latest book with me: Save the Date.  Stay tuned for that review later this summer.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
