RSS

Review: I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

17 Jun

I Kill the Mockingbird I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

Goodreads Summary:  When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to “destroying the mockingbird.” Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books.

This was a light fun read to kick off my summer reading. The book does have some serious elements: we start of with the death of a teacher, Lucy’s mom is recovering from cancer, and two out of the three best friends are realizing that they are bit more than friends.  Those these add a bit of seriousness to the story, they are not overwhelming – it’s as though they are just a bit of seasoning to the story.

I loved the way Acampora puts some excitement into assigned reading. When I was in school, I loved it when the teacher assigned summer reading. In fact, I would often read books off the assigned reading lists for other grade levels  – but then I’ve always been a bit of a book nerd.  After having read this book, it makes me wonder about all the books that I find mis-shelved in the library. Are some of my students trying to start a reading revolution?

Young adult readers will appreciate how clever Lucy, Elena and Michael are. It helps that even though they are serious readers, they aren’t too serious. IMHO I think they add a bit of coolness to being a bookworm. Adults will appreciate that the adults in the book don’t come off as totally clueless.  All of the characters feel genuine. In fact these three remind me of some of my own students.

I think this book would be an excellent choice for a student book club. What a great way to generate a discussion on classic books!

 

Recommended for: 5th grade and up.

AR Level: No AR level at this time.

Booklady’s Rating: 4 of 5 Hedgehogs!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Review: I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

  1. kateposeyphd

    June 25, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    I was interested in reading this book, before, but am even more interested now after reading your review. It’s such an intriguing title and I love this idea of including this for a student book club. Any way to get readers talking about classic books is a great thing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
