RSS

Review: Graduation Day by Joelle Charbonneau

03 Jul

DSC_6173  FTC Disclosure:  I received an Advanced Copy of this from the Amazon Vine Program in exchange for an honest review.

 

Goodreads Summary:  

In book three of the Testing series, the United Commonwealth wants to eliminate the rebel alliance fighting to destroy The Testing for good. Cia is ready to lead the charge, but will her lethal classmates follow her into battle?

She wants to put an end to the Testing
In a scarred and brutal future, The United Commonwealth teeters on the brink of all-out civil war. The rebel resistance plots against a government that rules with cruelty and cunning. Gifted student and Testing survivor, Cia Vale, vows to fight.

But she can’t do it alone.
This is the chance to lead that Cia has trained for – but who will follow? Plunging through layers of danger and deception, Cia must risk the lives of those she loves–and gamble on the loyalty of her lethal classmates.

Who can Cia trust?
The stakes are higher than ever-lives of promise cut short or fulfilled; a future ruled by fear or hope–in the electrifying conclusion to Joelle Charbonneau’s epic Testing trilogy. Ready or not…it’s Graduation Day.

The Final Test is the Deadliest!

My thoughts: I really enjoyed the first two books in this series. It didn’t bother me that some people said this series was just a remake of The Hunger Games. (I’ve been known to describe it as Hunger Games in an academic setting.) It’s a good story no matter the similarities.

I was really looking forward to the last book in the trilogy. However, now that I’ve finished the book I’m sort of on the fence about it. On the one hand I did enjoy the book, but on the other hand it really didn’t live up to the first two books in the series.  It took me longer to read this time around. The story just didn’t have the edge of your seat pacing as the first two books. Most of the action takes place in Cia’s head, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It just makes the book more reflective than action paced.

The ending bothered me as well. Parts of the ending really weren’t a surprise (no I’m not going to give a spoiler), but mostly I felt as though the author still had more to say. This confused me because I thought this was a trilogy. I hate when this happens. I read a book and even though I enjoyed the story, I end up feeling disappointed because somehow there should have just been more to it.

I’m not sorry I read the book. And I will continue to recommend the trilogy to readers who like dystopian novels, but I still have that nagging feeling that something is missing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
