RSS

Review: The Christie Curse by Victoria Abbot

10 Jul

The Christie Curse The Christie Curse by Victoria Abbott

Goodreads Summary:  In 1926, Agatha Christie disappeared—making headlines across the world—only to show up eleven days later at a spa under an assumed name. During those eleven days, did she have time to write a play? 

Jordan Kelly needs a new job and a new place to live. She’s back in Harrison Falls, New York, living with her not so law-abiding uncles, in debt thanks to a credit card–stealing ex and pending grad school loans.

Enter the perfect job, a research position that includes room and board, which will allow her to spend her days hunting down rare mysteries for an avid book collector. There’s just one problem: her employer, Vera Van Alst—the most hated citizen of Harrison Falls. 

Jordan’s first assignment is to track down a rumored Agatha Christie play. It seems easy enough, but Jordan soon finds out that her predecessor was killed while looking for it, and there is still someone out there willing to murder to keep the play out of Vera’s hands. Jordan’s new job is good…but is it worth her life?

 

My thoughts:  This has been on my TBR pile for over a year. I’m really sorry I waited so long to read it.

I added this book to my TBR pile for two reasons: it’s a book related mystery AND it has a tie to Agatha Christie. I was reading Dama Agatha’s mysteries when other girls my age were still reading Nancy Drew. (Nothing wrong with Nancy, but she’s no Ms. Marple, Hercule or  Tuppence.)

I love Jordan. She’s a strong female character with her head on straight. Even though she has chosen a different life from that of her uncles, the love and respect she has for them is obvious. I like that even though she was dealt a bad hand from her lowlife ex boyfriend, rather than spend a lot of time moaning and moping about it, she moves on with her life. I especially love how she deals with her cantankerous reclusive employer.

The mystery is very engaging. I was so caught up in the story that I had almost finished the book in one sitting. It would have been one sitting if pesky things like housework and errands hadn’t gotten in the way. Abbott spins a good tale and keeps the reader guessing until almost the end. To be honest, though I like to pride myself on solving the mystery before the end, I also really enjoy it when the author keeps you guessing. Abbott does a great job in that area.

I like mystery series that have a theme, my favorite being those tied to books. If you are a fan of mysteries and classic books, then I highly recommend this series.  Book two is The Sayer’s Swindle and book three The Wolfe Widow will be published on September 2,2014.

To learn more about the writing team behind this series check out their website here.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Review: The Christie Curse by Victoria Abbot

  1. Kimberlee

    July 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    I am so glad that you enjoyed this book too. I adore this series and simply cannot wait for the next one to come out. I love the classic mystery theme and I think it really brings something different to the genre. I hope you get to read the next ones soon and I will be stopping by to see how you like them.

    Kimberlee
    girllostinabook@hotmail.com
    http://www.girllostinabook.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
