RSS

Mission to Murder by Lynn Cahoon: Review, Guest Post and Giveaway

02 Aug

MISSION TO MURDER SMALL BANNERmission to murder large banner 640

 

FTC Disclosure: I received a free advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads:  In the California coastal town of South Cove, history is one of its many tourist attractions—until it becomes deadly…
Jill Gardner, proprietor of Coffee, Books, and More, has discovered that the old stone wall on her property might be a centuries-old mission worthy of being declared a landmark. But Craig Thomas, the obnoxious owner of South Cove’s most popular tourist spot, The Castle, makes it his business to contest her claim. When Thomas is found murdered at The Castle shortly after a heated argument with Jill, even her detective boyfriend has to ask her for an alibi. Jill decides she must find the real murderer to clear her name. But when the killer comes for her, she’ll need to jump from historic preservation to self-preservation …

When I first read the summary for this book, I knew it was one that I had to read. I am delighted to be a part of the blog tour and to   welcome Lynn Cahoon as a guest on the blog today.

Lynn:

Thanks for having me over to Booklady’s Booknotes– As I was reading through your blog before I wrote this guest post, I realized we’re both pink sisters. I’ve been in remission now six years.

It was the cancer that got me writing. You know how you think you’re going to do something, someday.

Like learn French. Or visit Hawaii. Or write a book.

When I was diagnosed, I realized someday wasn’t promised. So I started writing. Short stories, mysteries, romance – I wrote a bit of everything. Shopping GUIDEBOOK, the first book of the series, I knew Jill and the South Cove gang would find a home.

MISSION TO MURDER, and the rest of the TOURIST TRAP MYSTERIES, was born out of a spring break trip I took to central coastal California. My sister lives in Santa Maria, so I drove down from Idaho and spent the week exploring.

One little town stood out as somewhere I could live. I could quit my job, move to California, open a bookstore coffee shop, and change my life. Those things didn’t happen then. But a seed was planted that week. One that has turned into my TOURIST TRAP series.

My main character, Jill, has enough problems with her aunt now part of the business. Now she’s trying to get the crumbling wall in her back yard classified as a historic site. In some ways, Jill’s a lot like me. She assumes people will do the right thing, for the right reason. Naïve, you say? Probably, but after living over two decades with a man who saw the worse in mankind in every encounter, I’m willing to be a little naïve.

Often people who say they care about you, want you to change. To become something and someone else. A more politically correct someone. Or a happier someone.

Happiness can’t be bought this way. A lesson that some of the people in South Cove need to learn. Before it kills them.

It is always good to meet someone who has defeated cancer. I like that phrase “pink sisters.” After I completed my radiation treatments three years ago, I created a life celebration list and on the list is a plan to write a book. Hasn’t happened yet, but there’s still time. Meanwhile, I am enjoying the work of authors like Lynn.

My thoughts on Mission to Murder:

This is book two in the series. I did not read the first book GuideBook To Murder first. You can easily follow the story without having read the first book. However, I enjoyed Mission to Murder so much and liked the characters so much that I bought GuideBook To Murder so I could learn more about the characters and “spend” more time in South Cove.

I love Jill. She reminds me of myself. She is never far from a book and she has one of my dream jobs: coffee/book shop owner.  I wish I had more of Jill’s optimism, though. I am not surprised when people don’t do the right thing. I guess I’m a bit more jaded than Jill. I also love the community Lynn has created in South Cove. I would love to visit it for real, though I suspect that if I did, I wouldn’t want to leave.  In fact, South Cover would make a wonderful retirement home.

I love mysteries, especially mysteries with a bookish theme. I’m glad to have a new series to add to my collection. Lynn has created a mystery that will keep the reader engaged throughout the entire book. I was so pleased that the solution wasn’t predictable. There are just enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. I know several cozy mystery fans that will enjoy this series. As I said, I liked Mission to Murder so much I bought the first book in the series and I’m reading it now. I can hardly wait for the next book in the series: If The Shoe Kills which will be released on November 10th.

I have an e-copy of Mission to Murder to give away.  For a chance to win comment on this post by midnight on August 12th and let me know what you would do if you could quit your job and do whatever you wanted.  Be sure to leave your email address so I can contact you if you win.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “Mission to Murder by Lynn Cahoon: Review, Guest Post and Giveaway

  1. lynncahoon

    August 2, 2014 at 6:21 am

    Thanks for having me over today. Happy August. Although the year seems to be flying by for me.

     
  2. bettylouise31

    August 2, 2014 at 10:13 am

    I have read the book and like it so much I brought the first one.

     
    • lynncahoon

      August 7, 2014 at 7:10 pm

      Hi Betty! So glad to hear you enjoyed the Tourist Trap mysteries..

       
      • bettylouise31

        August 15, 2014 at 8:59 am

        Thanks for the comment

         
  3. Deanna

    August 2, 2014 at 10:53 am

    I’m retired and that’s what I would do if I was still working…I would, and do, read for pleasure, not for work!

     
    • lynncahoon

      August 7, 2014 at 7:11 pm

      I’m planning on reading a lot when I retire. Thanks for stopping in.

       
  4. Libby Dodd

    August 2, 2014 at 11:51 am

    I am fortunate enough to pretty much have that situation (with limitations, of course). I take care of my family and paint and cook. When i want to spend more time in one area, I usually can. The others wait.
    Being a “kept woman” (married 42 years!) is rather lovely.
    libbydodd at comcast dot net

     
    • lynncahoon

      August 7, 2014 at 7:12 pm

      Libby, you’re living the dream. 🙂 Love that you take time to paint – we all need something that’s just for us.

       
    • bevarcher

      August 19, 2014 at 5:13 am

      Libby: Congratulations! You are the winner of the e-book of Mission to Murder. Please send me your email address and your preferred e-format (nook, kindle, etc).

       
  5. Kathy Gonzales

    August 2, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Wow, what would I do if I could do anything ? Travel everywhere I could, see everything I could , and spend every moment possible with my grandkids !
    kathambre@yahoo.com

     
    • lynncahoon

      August 7, 2014 at 7:13 pm

      Yeah, I want to travel more when I retire. I’ve been pretty much a homebody. I remember seeing fireflys for the first time a few years ago. They made me laugh.

       
  6. suekey12

    August 5, 2014 at 9:40 am

    If I could do anything I wanted, I would spend half my time golfing and the other half working with needy animals.
    suefarrell.farrell@gmail.com

     
    • lynncahoon

      August 7, 2014 at 7:14 pm

      Golfing huh? I played a round of miniature golf this summer. Too much fun. Love that you’d do rescue work.

       
  7. Christy Maurer

    August 5, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    I would do the same! I’d open a bookstore on the beach…or at least CLOSE to the beach. It would have a coffee shop in it and lots of comfy places to read.

     
  8. Robyn K

    August 5, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    If I had all the money in the world I would buy a huge house with a LOT of land and save all the animals. I would have full time vets on premises 24 hours a day, food shipped in daily and the animals would live out their lives happy, healthy, safe and loved. areewekidding@yahoo.com

     
  9. Cyn209

    August 5, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    if funds weren’t an issue, I would quit my job to travel the world, over & over again!!!!

     
  10. acm05

    August 6, 2014 at 6:30 am

    I’d travel the world and read even more.

    Anne
    acm05atjuno.com

     
  11. Brooke

    August 7, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Thank you for sharing this post! Well, I’m a stay at home mom, which I can’t really quit. 😉 I’d love to be a mom who could travel the world with her kids!

    brookeb811 at gmail dot com

     

Leave a Reply

 
