RSS

Bewitching Boots by Joyce & Jim Lavene – Guest Post and Review

05 Aug

bewitching boots large banner640 BEEWITCHING BOOTS

FTC Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Bewitching Books by Joyce & Jim Lavene

Goodreads Summary:  Jessie is thrilled when she finds Bill Warren, an old fashioned shoemaker, and he agrees to come back to Renaissance Village with her. She’s not so thrilled when claims to have elf magic, and he falls for Princess Isabelle. The dancing slippers Bill makes for Isabelle make him a suspect when the princess takes a leap from the castle terrace. Now, Jessie must find the lady or lord who helped the princess with her last dance before she loses her star attraction.

I love the Renaissance Faire Mystery Series. It is truly one of my favorite series.  So when Lori over at Escape with Dollycas offered a chance to be a part of the blog tour, I jumped at it.  I’m very pleased to welcome Joyce  to the blog today.

I Love the Ren Faire!

By Joyce Lavene

 

I love the Renaissance fairs and festivals that take place around the world. I make no bones about it. These events take people to another time and place that it’s hard to reach with the encumbrances of today.

In these tiny hamlets, time stops – literally as people are encouraged to throw aside who and what they are for a day. Leave your cell phone behind. Dip your feet in the fountain and enjoy the moments!

Despite these events being taken to all new heights, they still maintain the feel, smell, and fun of the times of magic, giants, simple foods, and wonder. Is that a real unicorn over there in the sunlight? Will the pirates come for us? Will the good guy overcome the bad guy on the field of honor?

I hope we’ve captured the amazement of spending the day in a Renaissance Village surrounded by the pleasures of life in that simpler time. I want our books to reflect the times we’ve spent at Renaissance fairs and festivals. I want people to admire the craftsmanship and the food. Laugh at the fools and shows and applaud the heraldry of the joust.

I guess I want everyone to visit a Ren Faire, as we did many years ago. See what it’s all about. Dress up. Don’t feel silly! Use your imagination. That’s what its there for. Indulge in a dream of what life was once like many years ago.

And I hope you enjoy your experience, and our books. Huzzah!

 

Thanks Joyce! I agree with everything she said, which is one reason I love the series so much. The other reason is that the books are so well written that I often forget I’m not actually at the Ren Faire, just visiting vicariously.

 

My Review:  I have to be honest:   even though this is one of my favorite series, I’m rather behind on the books. I’m behind on all my favorite series. For the last few years (yes, years) I’ve been concentrating on reading elementary level books. I’m an elementary librarian with 3 book clubs. Love my job. Love the books I read for it, but I do miss my favorites.

Bewitching Boots is volume 8 in the series. However, you can easily read Bewitching Boots as stand alone read. (Though I highly recommend that you read them all.) The characters are well developed and likable. I adore Jesse.  She’s level headed, even if she does tend to get caught up in murder often. She’s intensely loyal, the kind of person I would want on my side.  As I mentioned before, one of the reasons I enjoy this series so much is that it really feels as if you are there with the characters. I especially felt this way while reading Bewitching Boots. Of course that could be because it’s Ren Fair time in this part of Colorado.  I’ve been to the local Ren Fair a few times and while it’s fun, I think I’d rather visit Jesse’s. Of course, I’d rather they skipped the dead bodies. 🙂

Overall, this is a very engaging read, perhaps my favorite of the series so far.  It’s a quick read. If you are looking for one last entertaining end of summer read (well for me it’s the end of summer), then you should run to the nearest book store and grab a copy.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Bewitching Boots by Joyce & Jim Lavene – Guest Post and Review

  1. bettylouise31

    August 5, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    I haven’t read this series but I have many book by this couple and enjoyed everyone

     
  2. Joyce Lavene

    August 5, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks for having us here today!

     
  3. Laura Collins

    August 5, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    Great review, I was also lucky and got an ARC of this book and LOVED it as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
