RSS

REVIEW: The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer Holm

14 Aug

the fourteenth goldfish

FTC Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer Holm

Goodreads Summary:  Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

 

My thoughts:  The story was an interesting concept, a scientific experiment with unusual consequences, but I felt as though something was missing. I loved Ellie. She’s a great character, very likable and a bit more grounded than all the adults around her. However, I found the lack of disbelief Ellie and her mother display upon discovering that Ellie’s elderly grandfather is now a teenage boy to be a big stumbling block. I also felt the flow of the story was a bit choppy. Yet my elementary book sense is nagging at me. Something tells me that it might have more appeal to my students than I suspect.  My first instinct was to not add this book to my fall purchases for the library, but I think I will turn it over to my Review Crew (a new club this year) and let them decide.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
