RSS

If The Shoe Kills by Lynn Cahoon: Review and Guest Appearance

18 Nov

If The Shoe Kills_ebookCahoon

FTC Disclosure:  I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

It is my pleasure to welcome one of my new favorite authors to the blog today.  I first discovered Lynn’s  books by participating in one of the Great Escapes Book Tours coordinated by Lori over at Escape With Dolyycas Into A Good Book. I’ve been hooked on her books ever since.

Slowing down for the holidays

As I write this, Halloween is upon us. Is it just me, or do the last two months of the year fly by and then winter takes it’s time with us?

I used to be ready for Christmas by the end of October. Gifts bought and stashed, a plan for baking on my calendar, the tree up before Thanksgiving weekend ended.

But that was also when I had a kid in the house. I still enjoy sitting in my living room, the tree lights twinkling in the corner, but now I’m more likely to be reading a book than knitting a gift.

My sister still does it all. She’s a pediatric nurse practitioner so she works long hours, knits, quilts, and takes time for family and travel. Although I’ve never visited her new home nestled in the mountains surrounding Salt Lake, I hear it’s beautiful and perfectly decorated. She’s got it perfected, house, job, and time for her. I’m constantly amazed.

My house is clean, but not like it was when I was married the first time. Then I cleaned house every Saturday from 8-noon then went shopping and ran errands for the rest of the day. Food, clothes, sport equipment and of course a trip to the library.

Now, my Saturdays are spent playing with my imaginary friends and weaving a story (or two). And for the next few weekends before the snow flies, we’ll be heading down to our new get away at a small lake in the hills of central Missouri.

So laundry will get done, but washing the windows? Maybe not this weekend, or even this month.

I like visiting the cabin and just sitting, talking with friends and family. Taking a breath from our busy weekday lives. And I can bring my imaginary friends along for the ride. 🙂

This year, my holiday plan is simple. We’re hosting Thanksgiving, I’m putting up a tree, and then opening up the first book on my TBR pile. And I’ll send Christmas cards because I love getting them. That’s it.

Jill Gardner’s holiday however, is getting busier with every turn of the page in If The Shoe Kills.

So, tell me, are you all ready for the holidays? Or are you still preparing?

Lynn

 

Lynn, I love your plan for the holidays. I always try to start and end my holidays with a good book. This year our holidays are all topsy turvy as we are in the process of buying our first house. We figured now that Mr. Archer is retired from the Army, it’s safe to buy a house, since the Army can’t send us somewhere else two minutes after we get the boxes unpacked. Still, I hope to take a few minutes with a good book.

And if you are looking for a good holiday read, I highly recommend Lynn’s Tourist Trap Mystery series. I’ve enjoyed them all, especially the latest one: If The Shoe Kills.

If the Shoe Kills

Goodreads Summary:  The tourist town of South Cove, California, is a lovely place to spend the holidays. But this year, shop owner Jill Gardner discovers there’s no place like home for homicide. . .

As owner of Coffee, Books, and More, Jill Gardner looks forward to the hustle and bustle of holiday shoppers. But when the mayor ropes her into being liasion for a new work program, ’tis the season to be wary. Local businesses are afraid the interns will be delinquents, punks, or worse. For Jill, nothing’s worse than Ted Hendricks–the jerk who runs the program. After a few run-ins, Jill’s ready to kill the guy. That, however, turns out to be unnecessary when she finds Ted in his car–dead as a doornail. Officer Greg assumes it’s a suicide. Jill thinks it’s murder. And if the holidays weren’t stressful enough, a spoiled blonde wants to sue the city for breaking her heel. Jill has to act fast to solve this mess–before the other shoe drops. . .

My thoughts:  This is another one of the books that helped pull me out of my reading slump.  To be honest, I cannot think of a single thing I didn’t like about this book or any of the previous ones. I love the way Lynn makes her readers want to visit South Cove. But if I did, I’d probably put on 20 lbs because I’d never leave Coffee, Books and More. Seriously, coffee, pastries and books – what more could you want?

OK, I have to back track and be honest. There is one thing I do not like about South Cove and that’s the mayor. But, you are not supposed to like him. Sometimes, I wonder if his mother liked him.  Harsh, I know but he is a politician without the political smoothness.  Even though I don’t like him, I do enjoy watching Jill work around his obnoxious antics.

Despite the mayor (and his wife), visitors to South Cove will love the residents. Lynn has created some truly likable characters. I even  like Aunt Jackie’s sometime boyfriend, Josh, who sometimes has to be coaxed into being a good guy. And of course, I adore Jill and Greg. I look forward to reading more about them.  The Tourist Trap Mysteries is one series that is on my standing reading list. I highly recommend you add it to your list, too.

 

To learn more about Lynn and her books visit her web page.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “If The Shoe Kills by Lynn Cahoon: Review and Guest Appearance

  1. lynncahoon

    November 18, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Yay on the new house. We bought our first together house just before the holidays a few years ago and I love not renting. 🙂 So glad your enjoying your trips to South Cove… and, thanks to your husband for his service.

    Lynn

     

Leave a Reply

 
