RSS

Review: Red, A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall

12 Mar

 

Red  Red, A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall

Goodreads Summary
Red has a bright red label, but he is, in fact, blue. His teacher tries to help him be red (let’s draw strawberries!), his mother tries to help him be red by sending him out on a playdate with a yellow classmate (go draw a nice orange!), and the scissors try to help him be red by snipping his label so that he has room to breathe. But Red is miserable. He just can’t be red, no matter how hard he tries! Finally, a brand-new friend offers a brand-new perspective, and Red discovers what readers have known all along. He’s blue!

 

My thoughts: I loved this book. As an educator I have seen many children struggle with the labels they have been given and/or unreasonable expectations. This heartwarming story highlights the importance of being true to yourself. I don’t usually like picture books with “messages”.  But I love this one. Some might consider the message to be rather heavy handed, but I found it to just be simply straightforward.

I checked this book out from the public library because my students really enjoyed The Day The Crayons Quit. I was hoping this would be another book they would enjoy. So far, each of the classes I’ve shared the book with have thought it was awesome. I have already ordered a copy for the school library and a copy for myself as well.

It’s a must have for any school or classroom library.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
