RSS

Review: Meet Your Baker by Ellie Alexander

17 May

Meetyourbaker

Meet Your Baker by Ellie Alexander

Goodreads Summary:  Welcome to Torte—a friendly, small-town family bake shop where the treats are so good that, sometimes, it’s criminal…

After graduating from culinary school, Juliet Capshaw returns to her quaint hometown of Ashland, Oregon, to heal a broken heart and help her mom at the family bakery. The Oregon Shakespeare Festival is bringing in lots of tourists looking for some crumpets to go with their heroic couplets. But when one of Torte’s customers turns up dead, there’s much ado about murder…

The victim is Nancy Hudson, the festival’s newest board member. A modern-day Lady Macbeth, Nancy has given more than a few actors and artists enough reasons to kill her…but still. The silver lining? Jules’s high school sweetheart, Thomas, is the investigator on the case. His flirtations are as delicious as ever, and Jules can’t help but want to have her cake and eat it too. But will she have her just desserts? Murder might be bad for business, but love is the sweetest treat of all…

My Thoughts: I received a copy of this book through one of the Chaotic Goddess Book Swaps. It had been on my wish list and my partner was kind enough to send it to me.  I loved it. It’s true that I love most cozy mysteries that include recipes. (I can’t wait to try the Brazilian Cheese Muffins), but the real treat is the story.  It is a well crafted mystery that kept me guessing almost to the end. There were just enough twists to keep things interesting.  Jules is a strong lead character and very likable. I’m really looking forward to reading more about her.

Alexander has created a delightful setting. I love it when authors create a location that I really want to visit in person.  As a college English major I’d love to spend time in a town that celebrates Shakespeare and trying one of Jules’ treats would make it a great visit.

There are more cozy mysteries out there than I can count and way more than anyone of us could read. This is one that I highly recommend that you add to your TBR pile. It will be a great treat.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
