RSS

Review: Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

01 Jul

roller girl

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Goodreads Summary:  Twelve-year-old Astrid has always done everything with her best friend Nicole. So when Astrid signs up for roller derby camp, she assumes Nicole will too. But Nicole signs up for dance camp with a new friends instead, and so begins the toughest summer of Astrid’s life. There are bumps and bruises as Astrid learns who she is without Nicole…and what it takes to be a strong, tough roller girl.

My thoughts: I have to be honest. I’m not a big fan of graphic novels for my personal reading. I do think they are great for some readers, especially those who are more of a visual reader.

I enjoyed this book, including the illustrations. Not only is it a quick read, it’s great for generating a discussion about perseverance and changing friendships.  I’m adding this one to my purchase list for the school library.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
