RSS

Great Escapes Tour: Fudging the Books by Daryl Woods Gerber – Review, Recipe and Giveaway

01 Aug

fudging-the-books-large-banner640

FTC Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

It is my pleasure to be a part of the Fudging The Books Great Escapes Tour. Be sure to scroll down for a delicious recipe and my review.

Fudging The Books
by Daryl Wood Gerber

FUDGING THE BOOKS

Fudging the Books (A Cookbook Nook Mystery)
Series: A Cookbook Nook Mystery (Book 4)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Berkley (August 4, 2015)
ISBN-13: 978-0425279403
E-Book ASIN: B00QH8320E
goodreads-badge-add-plus

The Agatha Award–winning author of Stirring the Plotreturns to the Cookbook Nook in Crystal Cove, California, where February brings Pirate Week, National Chocolate Month—and bitter murder…

Pirate Week is sweeping through Crystal Cove and keeping Jenna Hart and her bookstore, the Cookbook Nook, plenty busy. But she’s not too swamped to also host the local Chocolate Cookbook Club’s meeting—especially because the guest of honor is her friend, candy maker and cookbook author Coco Chastain.

Jenna whips up a delicious event amidst the rowdy festivities, but the mood is soon broken by robberies, simmering tempers, and a dead body—Coco’s editor, Alison. The suspects turn out to be more plentiful than a pot full of gold doubloons, so to prove Coco isn’t responsible for the dastardly deed, Jenna will have to stir up some clues and figure out who’s the real sticky-fingered killer…

INCLUDES RECIPES!

Daryl Wood Gerber 0218 100dpi

About This Author

DARYL WOOD GERBER writes the nationally bestselling Cookbook Nook Mystery series featuring a cookbook store owner who is an avid reader and admitted foodie, set on the coast of California.  As AVERY AAMES, she pens the Agatha Award-winning, nationally bestselling Cheese Shop Mystery series featuring a cheese shop owner amateur sleuth, set in the fictional town of Providence, Ohio. Daryl’s short stories have been nominated for the Agatha, Anthony, and other awards. Fun tidbit: as an actress, Daryl has appeared in “Murder, She Wrote” and more.

Author Links

Visit Daryl or Avery atwww.darylwoodgerber.com.

“They” blog on www.mysteryloverskitchen.com as well as www.killercharacters.com

http://www.darylwoodgerber.com

http://www.averyaames.com

http://www.mysteryloverskitchen.com

http://killercharacters.com

Facebook:

Daryl http://www.facebook.com/darylwoodgerber

Avery http://www.facebook.com/averyaames

Twitter: @AveryAames @DarylWoodGerber

Goodreads: 

Daryl Wood Gerber https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4750535.Daryl_Wood_Gerber

Avery Aames https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3153786.Avery_Aames

 

Purchase Links

Amazon –  http://www.amazon.com/Fudging-Books-Cookbook-Nook-Mystery/dp/0425279405/ref=tmm_mmp_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1432916297&sr=1-1

B &N – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fudging-the-books-daryl-wood-gerber/1120853164?ean=9780425279403

My Thoughts: I’ve been a fan of Daryl’s other series The Cheese Shop Mysteries written under the name Avery Aames for a long time. So I knew I would enjoy this series. And I was right. Since I was participating in the blog tour, I took the opportunity to move the entire series up to the top of my TBR pile. And so far it has been favorite summer series read.  Daryl has created a delightful community in Crystal Cove. I would love to vacation there. I really like all the characters, even cranky old Pepper Pritchett who is the resident grump. I have to say that I didn’t expect to like her. Many cozy authors include a nemesis character for their sleuth. I don’t think we are supposed to like those characters. I generally don’t and in fact find them an annoyance. So, this is a first for me – I actually like the nemesis and look forward to reading more about Jenna’s efforts to sweeten this woman’s disposition.  Now, back to the mystery at hand: Fudging the Books is not only an enjoyable read, it’s a quick read. If life hadn’t gotten in the way, I would have finished this book in one sitting. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged and entertained. Daryl kept me guessing to the end. Like many mystery fans I like to try to solve it before the sleuth does. And though I enjoy beating them at their own game, I especially enjoy it when a writer keeps me on my toes.

If you like mysteries, cookbooks, sea side retreats, good fun and chocolate then this is a must read for you. I have a co-worker who loves good mysteries as much as I do. I can’t wait to get back to school and share this book (and the entire series) with her.

Now a delicious recipe from the author:

blog_baileycake

Yes, Irish cream cake is perfect for St. Patrick’s Day or any Irish celebration, but it’s also simply a lovely cake, and a delicious end for any specialty dinner. It would probably be a wow-factor cake at a book club event, too, if you’re in the mood.

No matter what, it’s a perfect cake to share while I’ve got chocolate on the brain. I’m in full PR mode for Fudging the Books, the 4th Cookbook Nook Mystery. I’ve been eating and dreaming chocolate for weeks, months…honestly, a year. When I write, it’s amazing how ensconced I get in the process. If I’m writing about cheese (for a Cheese Shop Mystery), I think and eat cheese. If I’m writing about barbecue (like I am right now for the next Cookbook Nook Mystery, which will come out in a year), I’m dreaming of grilling, bacon, barbecue sauce, and more. Yum!

This cake is easy to make. Promise! Now, I made it gluten-free by using a gluten-free chocolate cake mix, but you can make this using a regular chocolate cake mix, too. Note: The Bailey’s website says their beverage is gluten-free, and I had no digestive trouble with it. Good to know!

Have you ever cooked with liquor or liqueur?

Savor the Mystery!

Daryl Wood Gerber

Tasty ~ Zesty ~ Dangerous

Chocolate Bailey’s Irish Cream Cake

Ingredients:

(serves 8-12)

For cake:

1 pkg. dark chocolate cake mix, regular or *gluten-free (if necessary)

3 eggs

2/3 cup Bailey’s Irish cream

1/2 cup oil

2/3 cup water

For frosting:

1 ½ cups butter, at room temp

1 cup white chocolate chips, melted

3 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar (more if needed)

1/3 cup Bailey’s Irish cream

Directions:

For cake:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat two 8”-round cake pans with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, beat cake mix, eggs, Bailey’s lrish cream, oil, and water.

Divide the mixture between cake pans.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Remove from pans. Cool completely (at least 20-30 minutes).

For frosting:

Melt the white chocolate in the microwave on medium-high for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, on medium speed, beat butter until smooth and fluffy. Add white chocolate. Beat until blended. Add sugar until combined. Add Irish cream. Beat until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. (You might need more powered sugar. Your call.)

To frost:

Place one cake layer, top down on serving plate. Spread with 1 cup frosting. Top with remaining cake layer, smooth side up. Spread with remaining frosting on top and along sides.

*If desired, reserve ¾ cup frosting for rosette garnish. I did not do this.

GIVEAWAY

Thanks to the Author I am able to give one lucky reader their choice of a print copy of

Cookbook Nook Mystery.

Fudging the Books (A Cookbook Nook Mystery 4) or 

Inherit the Word (A Cookbook Nook Mystery 2) or

Final Sentence (A Cookbook Nook Mystery 1) or

Stirring the Plot (A Cookbook Nook Mystery 3)

To be entered for a chance to win, just leave a comment by midnight August 6th. Please be sure to leave a way for me to contact you if you win.

You can also enter the Great Escapes Tour Giveaway for a chance to win

prize

just click here to enter.

 
43 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

43 responses to “Great Escapes Tour: Fudging the Books by Daryl Woods Gerber – Review, Recipe and Giveaway

  1. Kathy Gonzales

    August 1, 2015 at 8:33 am

    I love this series , the recipes are always good too! kathambre@yahoo.com

     
  2. sallycootie

    August 1, 2015 at 9:17 am

    I love friendly pirates, Pirate Week sounds like fun. Thanks for the giveaway.
    sallycootie@gmail.com

     
  3. Susan Slovinsky

    August 1, 2015 at 10:52 am

    One of my favorite series and great recipes too. Thanks for the chance to win a copy.

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:47 am

      Thanks, Susan!

       
    • bevarcher

      August 7, 2015 at 5:19 pm

      Congratulations Susan!: You are the winner via random draw for the print copy of one of the Cookbook Nook Mysteries. Message me with your mailing address and your choice of books. If I don’t hear back from you by midnight on August 9th, I’ll have to pick another winner.

       
      • Susan Slovinsky

        August 8, 2015 at 10:34 am

        Thank you so much. I am so excited.

         
      • Susan

        August 8, 2015 at 10:42 am

        Thank you so much, Daryl is one of my favorite authors; but, being retired with a limited income, I usually have to wait until my library receives it. I would love to have Fudging the Books if that’s possible. My address is: Susan Slovinsky 3248 Woodland Trail Unit D Cortland, OH 44410

        Thank you again, Susan Slovinsky

         
  4. Lois Rotella

    August 1, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Looking forward to new book. It sounds like it is going to be very intetesting.

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:47 am

      I sure hope you think so. Thanks, Lois.

       
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:47 am

      PS Lois – do you belong to the national Lois club? I have a Lois in my Cheese Shop Mysteries. 🙂

       
      • Lois Rotella

        August 3, 2015 at 9:59 am

        No I think that may be another Lois. I can’t believe there is another Lois out there.

         
  5. Barbara Hawk

    August 1, 2015 at 11:10 am

    Love the books and recipes! I have made a glaze with Amaretto before, but I don’t usually cook or bake with liquor. Thanks for sharing and the giveaway!
    angelhwk68@yahoo.com

     
  6. suekey12

    August 1, 2015 at 12:00 pm

    I’ve got a bottle of Bailey’s in the fridge now—I think I’ll make this recipe. Thanks for the contest.
    suefarrell.farrell@gmail.com

     
  7. Kathleen Costa

    August 1, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    I love this blog…thanks for highlighting one of my favorite authors and series!

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:48 am

      Kathleen, sweet. Thanks for the compliment! 🙂

       
  8. mtrver

    August 1, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    That cake looks and sounds sinfully yummy! And, yes, in years gone by I did cook with liquors. Main dish foods like Chicken Dijonnaise and spaghetti sauce with wine: just really does add something to the dish.
    Since I would love one of these books I better give you my email and go find food. Reading about it always makes me hungry!! mtrver@gmail.com

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:49 am

      Mtrver, I agree. Sometimes reading about food makes me hungry, too!! 🙂

       
  9. harley0326

    August 1, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks for the chance to win. I have never read a cozy mystery before. It would be a treasure to read one. Thanks

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:50 am

      Harley, it’s time! Cozy mysteries usually have very little violence in the page and few bad words. You can cuddle up in a chair with a good cup of tea and enjoy, knowing there is a good resolution in the end. ~Daryl

       
  10. Jeanie Dannheim

    August 1, 2015 at 1:38 pm

    What a great opportunity – please count me in and thank you for being part of the tour! Would love either Stirring the Plot or this chocolate-y new one!

     
  11. Vickie Williams

    August 1, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    The recipes loo so tempting! Definitely need to read the new book.

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:51 am

      Vickie, I hope you will. And I hope everyone that does will give a review on Amazon or Barnes and Noble. Amazingly enough, that really helps an author as she is trying to build an audience! 🙂 Best, Daryl

       
  12. Peggy Hyndman

    August 1, 2015 at 5:23 pm

    hank you, I enjoyed reading this and the Chocolate Bailey’s Irish Cream Cake sounds wonderful.

     
  13. dblaser60

    August 1, 2015 at 8:38 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading this series! Would love to win the first book!

     
  14. Shannon

    August 1, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway! Love this series! smmolloy1105@yahoo.com

     
  15. kayekillgore

    August 1, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    Yummm… the cake looks great, I’ve never cooked with Baileys before. I’ll put it on my to try list.

    kaye dot killgore at comcast dot net

     
    • darylwoodgerber

      August 2, 2015 at 10:52 am

      Kaye, lovely to see you here. Bailey’s is easy to cook with. So smooth. It makes a great cocktail base, too.

       
  16. jagjhd

    August 2, 2015 at 2:41 am

    I bought Fudging today. I want Final Sentence next to complete the series.
    judydee22002 at yahoo dot com

     
  17. Jeanetta

    August 2, 2015 at 3:17 am

    I love her books, and I am looking forward to reading Fudging the Books (argh, pirate week me hearties!). Thank you for the giveaway.
    myrifraf(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  18. Debbie Riley

    August 2, 2015 at 6:52 am

    I love the cheese shop books. Currently reading those and have read the first two in cookbook series. Love these!!
    dcriley8409@aol.com

     
  19. Karen Durban

    August 2, 2015 at 11:54 am

    I would LOVE to win a copy! Sounds like a really good book!

     
  20. bn100

    August 3, 2015 at 7:15 pm

    interesting recipe

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

     
  21. dmrichards2014

    August 3, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    I enjoy your books, Daryl/Avery! Looking forward to reading Fudging the Books (already ordered) Would love to read the others! dm_richards(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  22. darylwoodgerber

    August 4, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    Jeanette, Debbie, and Karen, so lovely to see you here!!

     
  23. Christine Keck

    July 30, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    This is one of my favorite series. Cmkeck311@aol.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
